30 amp 240v circuit with 120v outlet.

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-20-14, 07:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,941
30 amp 240v circuit with 120v outlet.

Let's say I need a 240v circuit. I run 10-3 to my 240v receptacle. Can I then install a 120v receptacle using the neutral wire one one of the hots from the 10-3?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-20-14, 07:15 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
In theory, yes. In practicality, no. You have 30 amp OCP, which will be too much for the 120 volt receptacle, and it would be a bear bending 10 gauge wire inside a box and connect it to the receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-14, 07:55 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,050
Though not recommending it you could use a fused receptacle with a 15 amp fuse and probably meet code.

Name:  z9DjG73LJpu0X0YVQloBoQ_m.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  16.0 KB
Image source: quizlet.com
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-14, 10:24 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
In theory, yes. In practicality, no. You have 30 amp OCP, which will be too much for the 120 volt receptacle, and it would be a bear bending 10 gauge wire inside a box and connect it to the receptacle.

Who said he's not using a 30A 120V receptacle?

Assuming you use a 30A receptacle, you can do that no problem.
 
  #5  
Old 09-21-14, 04:37 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
True, but walk around your house and write down the number of 30 amp 120 volt receptacles you have. Or the practical applications.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes