New dryer wiring - blowing fuse

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-21-14, 02:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
New dryer wiring - blowing fuse

Hi all, I'm at a loss on this one. Hoping someone can help me out.

Trying to wire a dryer to a panel that uses fuses. I have experience with breakers but fuses are new to me. One of the hot wires (red) is causing one of the fuses to blow. All new 10-3 wiring, although there is a junction box halfway through the circuit. I have the black on one bus and the red on the opposite side. The black works fine, the red blows the fuse as soon as power is turned on.

I have put a different circuit at that location in the panel to make sure it wasn't a problem with that location. Works fine.

I have checked the connections at the junction box. I have even changed the marettes. The receptacle is wired correctly.

Any idea what could be causing this condition?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-21-14, 03:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 377
Are you using a fused disconnect or wiring directly to a fuse box. Also what size fuse are you using on the side that keeps blowing. When you say blow do you mean it blows the moment you connect power or when you try and run the dryer.
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-14, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
Dryer hasnt been plugged in. It blows the moment I connect power.

It's wired directly into the fuse box. I have been using 20amp fuses.
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-14, 03:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
You have a dead short somewhere. Is all the cable new?
 
  #5  
Old 09-21-14, 03:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
yes, its all new 10-3 wiring. I do have a junction box since I had to splice together two. but its all new romex.
 
  #6  
Old 09-21-14, 06:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,064
If the wiring between the receptacle and the panel is causing the fuse to blow then you need to check that wiring for shorts. It shouldn't be difficult to find the short. Maybe a staple thru the wire.

After you locate the short..... the dryer will require 30A fuses.
 
  #7  
Old 09-21-14, 06:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
And they should be slow blow fuses.
 
  #8  
Old 09-21-14, 07:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
thanks. I'll double check everything again. Certainly didn't find anything on my first look. For troubleshooting, I'll disconnect it at the junction box and see if it still blows. If not, it has to be between there and the outlet.
 
  #9  
Old 09-21-14, 07:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Do you have a multimeter ?if so set it to Ohms ,remove the wires from the fuses and check between the Red and neutral and Black to neutral,there should be no continuity ,if there is than that would be the shorted conductor.
Geo
 
  #10  
Old 09-21-14, 11:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
At least in the US the two hots would require a means to disconnect both at the same time. The CEC might have a similar requirement.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes