Electric in a pavalion

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-14, 04:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Electric in a pavalion

I'm in the process of building a pavilion and was wondering about electrical requirements. Will the electric have to be ran in conduit? The ceiling will be enclosed.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-14, 05:00 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Welcome to the forums!

Is this a residential installation? What kind of construction is it? (Metal, wood framed, etc)
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-14, 05:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
It's a post frame building with metal roofing/ceiling. No sidewalks being a pavilion. Residential.
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-14, 05:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,639
No sidewalks being a pavilion
Did you mean sidewalls?

.
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-14, 06:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
That is correct. Sorry. Autocorrect
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-14, 06:30 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Code requires exposed cables to be protected from physical damage and closely follow the building finish. If the finish is just the exposed posts and purlins, then I would think that is acceptable. However, your local inspector(s) may have a difference of opinion, so you might want to check with them. If there is a chance for the cable to get damaged it should be protected by running boards or conduit.
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-14, 09:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks for the response. Appreciate your time!
 
  #8  
Old 09-24-14, 11:09 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Here's what I typically do:

Underground 2'' conduit with feed conductors into 20 space outdoor panel

1 20A SWD rated breaker for lights

Run 12/2 MC cable to steel light boxes. If you wish to use fans put in fan-rated boxes.

Figure in your receptacle needs. I generally add a MWBC or two if you plan on using crock pots or food warmers for parties. Other than that a receptacle circuit with a receptacle every other post is fine. Receptacles need GFCI protection and in-use covers. I recommend GFCI breakers. All exposed wiring needs to be in conduit. If you use MC cable you need to use metallic conduit.
 
  #9  
Old 09-25-14, 07:14 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
If you use MC cable you need to use metallic conduit.
If you use metallic conduit, why do you use MC cables and not individual THHN/THWN conductors?
 
  #10  
Old 09-25-14, 02:37 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
If you use metallic conduit, why do you use MC cables and not individual THHN/THWN conductors?

I'm talking about sleeving the MC cable when going down a post, etc.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'