Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Installing a second electric meter. Wiring and grounding questions.

Installing a second electric meter. Wiring and grounding questions.

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-25-14, 12:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 29
Installing a second electric meter. Wiring and grounding questions.

I have a rental house in CA with a separate in-law house. I have a permit and I am going to install a separate meter/combo next to the existing house meter/panel (per the utility company's engineering department) to power the in-law house.

The in-law house currently has a subpanel on the outside which is fed with 220v from the main house meter/panel with two 20 amp breakers that power two 20 amp breakers in the subpanel for lights and outlets in the in-law house (It doesn't take much power for the in-law; it is only 400 sq ft, with about 6 outlets and 3 light fixtures and a refrigerator. Stove and water heater are gas). Two 20 amps, as it is, should be sufficient. Do I keep it wired the way it is with two 20s from the new meter panel feeding two 20s in the existing subpanel?

As far as grounding, can I use the same grounding rod for the new 100 amp panel that the existing house panel uses? The subpanel has it's own grounding rod located outside the in-law house that is currently connected. I thought a subpanel does not usually have it's own grounding rod if there is one at the main service panel. It it ok to ground the new meter/panel to the existing house ground rod and leave the ground rod for the subpanel connected? What is the correct way for grounding?

Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-25-14, 08:21 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
Is the new meter/panel being fed off the main panel, or is this being fed off the power companies line?
Is the current set up fed with 2 - 20 amp breakers, or one 2 pole 20 amp breaker? Is this in-law house a separate building? You said it is but I want to make sure.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-14, 08:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 29
The subpanel located on the in-law house is currently fed off the existing main panel on the front house. I am installing a second meter panel and, yes, the power company is dropping new service lines to it. So it will be two totally separate services.

I believe both sets of 20 amp breakers (in the main panel and the sub) are single pole, two of each in each box. Yes the in-law house is a separate building.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes