new wiring troubles in my shed


  #1  
Old 09-25-14, 06:11 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
new wiring troubles in my shed

I worked all day yesterday digging a trench out to my shed and running 12/2 wire in PVC conduit to put in an outlet and two overhead lights.



Here is the issue I am having:

Light switch on:
Top outlet "hot/ground reverse"
Bottom outlet "Hot/ground reverse"

Light switch off:
Top outlet correct
Bottom outlet correct


I know that sometimes the hot/ground reverse can mean an open neutral somewhere as far as the 3 prong testers go, but I have triple checked all the neutral (and everything else).







Here is how I have it wired.





Any ideas?


Does that look correct?
 
  #2  
Old 09-25-14, 06:22 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
First thing to do is check every thing using a multimeter (preferably analog) so you know for sure what the problem is.

Not related probably but what kind of cable. Also I don't see the code required disconnect at the shed.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-14, 06:43 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Regrettably, I did not put a disconnect out there...yet.


It is 12/2 UF.
 
  #4  
Old 09-25-14, 07:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Do you have a multimeter to make the necessary tests?
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-14, 09:02 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Between the light make the switch you need xx-3 cable, not xx-2. You cannot wire past the switch loop. You do not have a neutral.
 
  #6  
Old 09-25-14, 09:15 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply!

I'm even more confused now where this wire should run. Should I stick with 12/3 or can I move to 14/3?

How exactly should this be wired now?

Thanks again.
 
  #7  
Old 09-25-14, 09:31 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Hold on for PCBoss. I'm not seeing a switch loop. He is. You only need 12-3 if you have a receptacle after the light and I'm not seeing one.

All wiring needs to be #12 assuming a 20 amp breaker.
 
  #8  
Old 09-25-14, 09:42 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes it's on a 20 amp breaker dedicated for the shed.

The run ends at light #2. No second switch or anything past that.


Thanks
 
  #9  
Old 09-25-14, 10:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Just as a double check with the exception of the disconnect is this how you have it wired?

Name:  Bg.jpg
Views: 8182
Size:  25.0 KB
 
  #10  
Old 09-26-14, 04:44 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I do not have a switch in what you have labelled the disconnect. I only have a junction box there with hot to hot, neutral to neutral, and ground to ground. Otherwise, yes, that's exactly what I have.


Thanks for taking the time to work on this!
 
  #11  
Old 09-26-14, 04:56 AM
dirtydickey's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I do not have a switch in what you have labelled the disconnect. I only have a junction box there with hot to hot, neutral to neutral, and ground to ground. Otherwise, yes, that's exactly what I have.
What you also have is a code violation without a means of disconnecting.

Why did you bother running cable inside the PVC? Why not individual conductors?

Is this permitted work waiting for inspection?
 
  #12  
Old 09-26-14, 08:59 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
FIXED!!!!!!!


When I stripped back the 12/2UF in the sub panel I must have severed the neutral. When I took it out of the bus bar and gave it a little tug it broke off right at the point where I stripped it back.


Lights work and outlets works out at the shed now.


thanks so much for all the help diagnosing the issue!!!
 
  #13  
Old 09-26-14, 10:04 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
UF can be the dickens to strip. Thanks for letting us know you got it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: