Add electrical outlet in bathroom

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-25-14, 06:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Add electrical outlet in bathroom

Hi All,

I need to add an outlet in my bathroom. It would be connected to an outlet on the other side of the wall. These are connected to a GFCI circuit. It's a 20 amp circuit with 15 amp outlets. There are 2 lines that run into the outlet box. Here are my questions.

1. With the 2 lines running into the box, how do I connect a 3rd line?
2. Does the new outlet have to be a certain height off of the ground on the other side?
3. I might not have a 2x4 to connect the box to. How do I address that?
4. What else should I be concerned with?

Thanks for your help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-25-14, 06:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,064
It would be connected to an outlet on the other side of the wall.
Unless that is another bathroom that would be a code violation.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-14, 08:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Really? It's the same bathroom. The other side is the toilet with its own door. I don't know if that makes a difference. How would I add an outlet there?
 
  #4  
Old 09-25-14, 08:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,064
Other side of a wall implies another room.
1. With the 2 lines running into the box, how do I connect a 3rd line?
You would pigtail* the wires. You would connect all the blacks to one pigtail and all the whites to a second pigtail and connect the pigtails to the existing receptacle.
2. Does the new outlet have to be a certain height off of the ground on the other side?
Less than 6'7 is best".
3. I might not have a 2x4 to connect the box to. How do I address that?
You use an old work box.
4. What else should I be concerned with?
That the boxes aren't back to back (wall wouldn't be deep enough), that the receptacle is GFCI protected, for ease of running the wire both in the same stud bay, the circuit you are extending has a ground wire, and cable is #12,

*Pigtail: A 6"-8" length of wire the same color and gauge as the other wires it is being connected to.

Old work box, ears rotate down for insertion and up to hold it in place.

Name:  car-b120r.png
Views: 405
Size:  42.2 KB
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-14, 08:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
You could also use a Smart box that has screws that secure the box to the side of a stud.
 
  #6  
Old 10-04-14, 07:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks for your help. The outlet is now installed.
 
  #7  
Old 10-04-14, 07:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,064
Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
 
  #8  
Old 10-16-14, 07:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
I see that it is a code violation, NEC 210.11(C)(3), to supply other outlets not in the bathroom, but I was wondering more what the theory for this rule is. It seems to me that an outlet is an outlet, no matter where, and further, an outlet in the bathroom could be used for a high amperage draw such as a hair dryer, whereas putting one in an adjoining bedroom might be used for a 60 watt light, so the reason can't be to minimize loads on the circuit.
 
  #9  
Old 10-16-14, 08:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,064
t seems to me that an outlet is an outlet, no matter where, and further, an outlet in the bathroom could be used for a high amperage draw such as a hair dryer, whereas putting one in an adjoining bedroom might be used for a 60 watt light, so the reason can't be to minimize loads on the circuit.
It takes out the guess work on what someone might do in another room. The NEC can't eliminate all ill thought out put actions but it tries as much as it can. Someone could actually plug in a heater in that other room and the person in the bathroom wouldn't know. They would know if the heater was in the bathroom.
 
  #10  
Old 10-16-14, 09:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thanks. I know it is "bad form" to have circuits with outlets all over the house.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes