Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Need help identifying & replacing old Cutler Hammer 15 A 3 pole subpanel breaker

Need help identifying & replacing old Cutler Hammer 15 A 3 pole subpanel breaker


  #1  
Old 09-26-14, 12:09 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need help identifying & replacing old Cutler Hammer 15 A 3 pole subpanel breaker

One of the breakers in my home subpanel that feeds 1/4 of the house is bad. I've searched high and low for a replacement. The subpanel gets two 110V feeds from the main panel. Each 110V wire attaches to the line side of the CH breaker. There are 3 internal 15 amp breakers that feed 3 circuits in the house.

Please see attached photo.

Info from the breaker is:
Cutler Hammer 3 pole breaker
Type MB
15 amp

The left one has an "Issue No. M-62" label
On the side the following is stamped: 96-130-33 and 0-1 1C1

&

The right one has an "Issue No. L-75" label
On the side the following is stamped: 96-129-33 and 1-1 1C0

I would love to find a form fit and function replacement.

Any help / advice would be greatly appreciated as 1/8 of my house has no power.

Thanks,

Greg
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 09-26-14, 12:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
[QUOTE]he subpanel gets two 110V feeds from the main panel. Each 110V wire attaches to the line side of the CH breaker. No, your house is supplied with 240 volts and it the two legs of the 240 that is connected to the breaker. The neutral and one of those 240 legs makes 120 volts.

The best and simplest solution is to replace that panel.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-14, 02:09 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Each of the two CH breaker "bricks" are fed by one 110V wire (line to neutral) from the main panel and has three 15A protected 110V circuits (one wire in, three wires out) that feed three 110V lighting circuits in the house.

Any way, the easiest for me would be to by 2 new breakers "bricks" if they are still available (vs. new subpanel).

Anyone know if / where I can purchase these?

Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-14, 02:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Your house doesn't even have 110 volts. Lowest voltage in your house is 120.
Each of the two CH breaker "bricks" are fed by one 110V wire.
The correct way to measure is between the two lines. Measure between them and you will see 240 volts.

Please post a picture of the actual box those came from.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 09-26-14 at 04:54 PM.
  #5  
Old 09-26-14, 04:17 PM
Luana's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 135
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I strongly urge you to give it up. Even if you could find those ancient circuit breakers there is no way to know if they are still functional, i.e. able to trip on the proper overload. A new auxiliary panel is the proper recourse.
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-14, 06:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,897 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Wow... I think I may have seen those breakers in Thomas Edison's lab.

I've been an electrician for a long time and I've never seen that style before. You could search for "used and obsolete breakers" but if you did locate one my guess it would be well over $100.00
 
  #7  
Old 09-26-14, 07:58 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
Replace the panel. .........
 
  #8  
Old 09-26-14, 11:38 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Those breakers are from the 1930s - 1940s. I would strongly suggest replacing at least the panel, and probably the rest of the wiring in the house if you can afford to.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: