Service upgrade or sub panel?


  #1  
Old 09-30-14, 01:01 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Service upgrade or sub panel?

Hi there everyone,
My question is about how to add a hot tub to my panel that is maxed out on breaker space. I have a 200 amp main GE panel(quad breaker) and I am currently pulling 100 amps on one leg right now. I have a tankless water heater, 3 A/C spaces and another 2 water heaters. Square footage is 2800 if you need that. I will be posting pics here shortly. Thank you. Let me know what other info you need? Do I need to upgrade service or can I just add a sub panel?
 
  #2  
Old 09-30-14, 02:32 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
A demand load calculation will tell you if there is enough capacity for the added load from the hot tub.
 
  #3  
Old 10-01-14, 04:21 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response pcboss,
How do I perform the demand load calculation?
The hot tub label says it pulls 40 amps and it came with a 50 amp breaker installed inside unit.
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-14, 04:46 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Just do a search on the web. Here is one example: http://www.docstoc.com/docs/97696973...lt-Enterprises
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-14, 04:58 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Ray, much appreciated. See what I can come up with, hoping just a sub panel will work
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: