gfic breaker white wire question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-03-14, 02:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 281
gfic breaker white wire question

I install a new gfic breaker in circuit box. It has white wire which I attach with the rest of the white wires under the screws. I noticed that many of the screws on that row of white wires did not have wires under them. The screws were only halfway tight, but no wires under them.

I started tightening up those screws that were half torqued then realized maybe there was a reason they weren't all the way screwed into the row.

Is there any harm tightening those screws down without wires attached to them??...

lol, hopefully I make sense.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-03-14, 03:19 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
They come from the factory loose. No harm. Your coiled wire on the GFCI goes to the neutral buss, while the corresponding white in the circuit is attached to a location on the gFCI under the hot wire. Make sure you have it wired properly.
 
  #3  
Old 10-03-14, 04:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 281
ok thanks Chandelier for your help..... that's what I was thinking , I was worried I did something wrong by tightening the lone screws snug against the metal row.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'