gfic breaker white wire question


  #1  
Old 10-03-14, 02:28 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 281
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
gfic breaker white wire question

I install a new gfic breaker in circuit box. It has white wire which I attach with the rest of the white wires under the screws. I noticed that many of the screws on that row of white wires did not have wires under them. The screws were only halfway tight, but no wires under them.

I started tightening up those screws that were half torqued then realized maybe there was a reason they weren't all the way screwed into the row.

Is there any harm tightening those screws down without wires attached to them??...

lol, hopefully I make sense.
 
  #2  
Old 10-03-14, 03:19 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
They come from the factory loose. No harm. Your coiled wire on the GFCI goes to the neutral buss, while the corresponding white in the circuit is attached to a location on the gFCI under the hot wire. Make sure you have it wired properly.
 
  #3  
Old 10-03-14, 04:36 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 281
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok thanks Chandelier for your help..... that's what I was thinking , I was worried I did something wrong by tightening the lone screws snug against the metal row.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: