Confusion on Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-05-14, 08:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 35
Confusion on Switch

We just had the siding done , and took out a second entrance door , and I am having a time rewiring a switch for a hallways and stairs . It's a box with four wires as such :

1-Hot wire , its the only wire on this circuit breaker .

2-Dead wire to old outside light and outside receptacle .

3-Single receptacle on wall .

4-Wire leading to two switches and two lights , switch and light downstairs , switch and light down stairs .


I leave off the single receptacle , but no matter which way I wire it the lights do not work . I am fairly certain that the receptacle and old outside lines do not factor in , any thoughts before I call an electrician ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-05-14, 09:01 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
Welcome to the forums.

If it has multiple wires in it..... it's called a cable.

You have four cables that come to that box. Are they all two wire cables ?
(grounds aren't counted)
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-14, 07:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 35
Yes , one dead to old outdoor light , one live from the circuit panel , then the one that goes to the two lights/two switches . Sorry about the delay , with twins and a six day a week job things fall by the wayside .
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-14, 08:23 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
one dead to old outdoor light
Is it still needed ???

You should be able to connect all the blacks together and all the whites together. That should bring everything on. If you aren't using the outdoor light any more..... don't connect that cable.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'