splicing wire questions


  #1  
Old 10-06-14, 12:58 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,658
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
splicing wire questions

With ground wires do you have to use a green wire nut or can any wire nut be sued?
When stripping the wire, do all wires have to have exactly the same copper exposed or can some be slightly shorter?
 
  #2  
Old 10-06-14, 01:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Green ground wire nuts are the ones with a hole in the center but if you are not passing a wire through any wire nut of the right size is okay.

All wire will normally be stripped the same amount.
 
  #3  
Old 10-06-14, 02:16 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You don't need to bust out a micrometer for stripping wires. The important thing is that once that stripped wire is preformed and placed under terminal screw, and tightened, there is no excessive bare wire exposed.
You don't want wire insulation under screw, but you also don't want stripped wire exposed too much.
With a little practice you can dial this in.
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-14, 02:44 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,984
Received 198 Upvotes on 173 Posts
Green wire nuts are not an NEC requirement.

If you are having trouble making a splice use something like the Ideal push-in connectors. They are almost foolproof.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: