splicing wire questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-06-14, 01:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,342
splicing wire questions

With ground wires do you have to use a green wire nut or can any wire nut be sued?
When stripping the wire, do all wires have to have exactly the same copper exposed or can some be slightly shorter?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-06-14, 02:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,050
Green ground wire nuts are the ones with a hole in the center but if you are not passing a wire through any wire nut of the right size is okay.

All wire will normally be stripped the same amount.
 
  #3  
Old 10-06-14, 03:16 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
You don't need to bust out a micrometer for stripping wires. The important thing is that once that stripped wire is preformed and placed under terminal screw, and tightened, there is no excessive bare wire exposed.
You don't want wire insulation under screw, but you also don't want stripped wire exposed too much.
With a little practice you can dial this in.
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-14, 03:44 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Green wire nuts are not an NEC requirement.

If you are having trouble making a splice use something like the Ideal push-in connectors. They are almost foolproof.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes