trench for conduit to garage


  #1  
Old 10-08-14, 06:50 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 487
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
trench for conduit to garage

I am considering replacing an ancient 1" rigid that goes to garage. I would use PVC. I would like to utilize the same hole in the cement foundation.

Should I be looking to expose the current conduit and removing it and using the same trench or should I just dig a new one?
 
  #2  
Old 10-08-14, 07:06 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I doubt it would be possible to remove the RMC from the concrete. Why not run the new conduit up an outside wall? Or you could rent a core drill to drill a new hole in the slab.
 
  #3  
Old 10-08-14, 08:08 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 487
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
In that case it might be best to just go up a few ft' from the penetration in the cement and go out a sill plate with an LB and then get it underground outside instead.
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-14, 09:13 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
In that case it might be best to just go up a few ft' from the penetration in the cement and go out a sill plate with an LB and then get it underground outside instead.
That's what I would do at both ends.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: