Septic effluent ejector trips gfci

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-09-14, 03:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Septic effluent ejector trips gfci

I've been trying to trouble shoot my septic pump. It trips the GFCI when the float switch activates it and also trips it when the pump itself is plugged in without a piggyback. If I plug the pump into a non GFCI outlet it works fine...? What would cause this? The last couple days I've been having to manually plug it in to empty out our effluent holding tank so we didn't have a backup into house.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-09-14, 03:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 94
I had the same problem a few months ago and found the pump and floats were all connected with wire nuts and were all corroded. I turned off power, removed one wire nut at a time cleaned applied dielectric grease and reinstalled wire nut. No problem since.
 
  #3  
Old 10-09-14, 04:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,132
How old is the pump?there could be some current leakage that is causing the problem this happens to some motors as they age,splices could cause the problem as bperry suggested,also what kind of condition is the cord in?
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-14, 05:48 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Usually its the float... It needs to be replaced....

Post make and model of pump please....
 
  #5  
Old 10-09-14, 05:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Cord is in great shape there are a few indentions from where zip ties held the wires going up the pipe to the outlet but that was it. The alarm light and switches all work and don't trip the GFCI but the minute the pump hits the circuit you hear a loud pop from the GFCI. The pump and system was installed in 2008, so about 6 years old. I just pulled the pump it was a Wayne model pump.
 
  #6  
Old 10-09-14, 06:25 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
It trips the GFCI when the float switch activates it and also trips it when the pump itself is plugged in without a piggyback. If I plug the pump into a non GFCI outlet it works fine...? What would cause this?
You have eliminated the float switch as the problem. The motor has a ground fault. I'd either repair or replace it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'