Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Will I be able to run this welder? 20 amp in a 15 amp breaker

Will I be able to run this welder? 20 amp in a 15 amp breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-10-14, 04:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Will I be able to run this welder? 20 amp in a 15 amp breaker

I would like to buy a 120V welder, 60 Hz, 20 amps, single phase input.

My garage (where it will be used) has a 15 amp breaker. It also runs the lights in the garage and the lights in the kitchen. Even with all the lights turned off, will I be able to use this welder without tripping the breaker? I'm not sure if the 20 amps is the max it will use and the average amps used is under that, or if it needs a constant 20 amps.

Any input?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-10-14, 05:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Give us the make and model number of the welder.
 
  #3  
Old 10-10-14, 05:11 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
Thats a big negative. I'm sure it might run for you if you tried it, but your breaker, wire, and receptacle are not rated for what you would be using it for. Time to plan out how you're going to install a dedicated 20A receptacle in the garage.
 
  #4  
Old 10-10-14, 05:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
  #5  
Old 10-10-14, 07:16 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,393
Is your garage attached to your house or detached?
 
  #6  
Old 10-10-14, 10:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
The garage is attached.

Just curious now, but why a 30 amp? If it's for a 20amp, why wouldn't a 20 amp work? Because of the extra amps the lights that the breaker is wired too also?

Thanks!!
 
  #7  
Old 10-10-14, 11:22 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Based on the 20% duty cycle, a 20A 120V circuit with a 20A single receptacle on a 20A gfci breaker should be fine.
 
  #8  
Old 10-11-14, 12:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
I have a 15 amp breaker though. With the 20% duty cycle, will I be alright?
 
  #9  
Old 10-11-14, 07:11 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,393
My garage (where it will be used) has a 15 amp breaker. It also runs the lights in the garage and the lights in the kitchen. Even with all the lights turned off, will I be able to use this welder without tripping the breaker? I'm not sure if the 20 amps is the max it will use and the average amps used is under that, or if it needs a constant 20 amps.
You might be able to do very light welding without tripping the 15 amp breaker, but why risk it? It cannot be that hard to install a 20 amp circuit to an attached garage.
 
  #10  
Old 10-11-14, 07:38 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
I have a Clark 120 volt MIG which will run on a 15 amp circuit for a little while. It will trip the circuit if I push it too long. It has not problems on a 20 amp circuit.

The plug on the unit you linked to has a 15 amp cord so I suspect it will run about the same as mine.

From your manual:

Flip the Power Switch to the OFF position, then plug
the Welder into a dedicated, 120 V~, 20 A circuit
with delayed action type circuit breaker or fuses.
 
  #11  
Old 10-16-14, 03:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Chances are that this is a no go. The next questions is, what gauge wire was used? Depending on the length of the total run and the gauge of wire used, you may just be able to upgrade the breakers and the outlet.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes