Generator Receptacle Screws Vibrating Loose


  #1  
Old 10-11-14, 01:55 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Generator Receptacle Screws Vibrating Loose

I opened up the control panel on my generator today, and noticed the screws worked themselves loose on the Hubbell twist lock receptacles. Is there anything I can do other than soldering them to keep them from vibrating loose?
 
  #2  
Old 10-11-14, 02:03 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Do you mean the mounting screws or electrical connection screws?

Either way, some blue Loctite on the threads would probably work ok. If electrical connections, you'd have to be careful to keep it off the contact surfaces.
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-14, 02:35 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yes it is the electrical connections. I will get that later tonight and post back.
 
  #4  
Old 10-11-14, 05:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
Loctite or nail polish. Just a dab'll do ya.
 
  #5  
Old 10-11-14, 07:03 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
I forgot about nail polish....works really well.
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-14, 09:07 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I got the Loctite on every screw that carries current in there. Lets see how it is 100 hours from now. I'll post some pictures once I'm cleaned up.
 
  #7  
Old 10-12-14, 09:55 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Here's the inside of the control box. I also took this chance to move all the neutrals and grounds to a bar in the back of the generator, rather than piggybacking off the other receptacles. If you look closely you can see I took the neutral wire and looped it around so it terminates under 2 screws in case 1 works loose.
Name:  10580372_730680913677809_690613260_n.jpg
Views: 274
Size:  38.5 KB
 
  #8  
Old 10-12-14, 10:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
That should take care of the problem.


Either you have tile in your shop or the genny's in the kitchen and moms not home.
 
  #9  
Old 10-12-14, 11:17 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Either you have tile in your shop or the genny's in the kitchen and moms not home.

It was the latter.


I ran for about 5 hours tonight according to the hour meter, everything seems to be working well.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: