Is this aluminum wire ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-14, 05:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,342
Is this aluminum wire ?

This is in a distribution panel and I think was the original main panel for the house (now replaced with a separate Siemens 200A).
All the other wire seems to be copper coloured...

If so, should it be replaced?

The big white wire central:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwS...ew?usp=sharing
 

Last edited by qwertyjjj; 10-12-14 at 06:04 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-14, 05:55 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Yes, the service entrance is probably aluminum and should have an adequate amount of NoAlox on it. What is the panel being used for? I know you said a "distribution" panel, but that definition is vague. If it is in place, properly protected from corrosion and serves a purpose, leave it.
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-14, 06:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,444
wire

Red wire on the neutral buss????
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-14, 06:24 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Good catch, Ken. Went right past me.
 
  #5  
Old 10-12-14, 06:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Why would you think it needs to be replaced?
 
  #6  
Old 10-12-14, 08:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,342
Yes, the service entrance is probably aluminum and should have an adequate amount of NoAlox on it. What is the panel being used for? I know you said a "distribution" panel, but that definition is vague. If it is in place, properly protected from corrosion and serves a purpose, leave it.
It was the original panel in the house from the 70s - at that time I guess it was the main panel. So, when an electrician installed a new 200A panel in 2000, I think they just left this panel in place as a distribution point rather than re-wire or replace wiring.

Red wire on the neutral buss????
That red wire comes form a NMD90 red sheathed cable meaning it's 12/2.
However, it connects to a 15A single pole breaker. It powers the cooker extract fan.
I can only think someone has just used whatever wire they had left and that red is actually a neutral?

Why would you think it needs to be replaced?
I just thought all aluminium wire was a bad idea?
Although in this case, that alu wire connects to a 50A 2 pole breaker on the main panel.
 
  #7  
Old 10-12-14, 08:36 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Cables don't "come from" but rather service items. If it was 12-2 there would not have been a red wire in the cable. Hack job at best. No the aluminum does not need replacing.
 
  #8  
Old 10-12-14, 08:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,091
Larry.... in Canada they have dedicated wiring for 240v use. It has a red jacket and a red and black wire inside. It's mostly used with electric heaters.

In theory the red wire should have been taped white. Our code doesn't allow it. I don't know how it's handled in the CEC.
 
  #9  
Old 10-12-14, 08:47 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Thanks Pete. So it is still a hack job since the cable wires were not re-identified.
 
  #10  
Old 10-12-14, 09:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,043
But if it needs a neutral it is 120v and the wrong cable was used so to quote Larry, "A hack job".
 
  #11  
Old 10-12-14, 10:30 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
I find that picture kind of funny, nobody (in my city) uses red loomex because they don't want to buy separate rolls or lengths of wire. And now a few of qwerty's pictures show it and its not installed right.

To make it kosher, just tape the red wires with white tape, or even better buy some white shrink tape.
And aluminum feeders are nothing to worry about. We use them all the time because it is cheaper than copper. But it doesn't look like you have a healthy amount, if any at all, noalox. It might be worthwhile to have somebody come apply NoAlox on your wires.

http://www.homedepot.ca/product/noal...-in-cap/934874
 
  #12  
Old 10-13-14, 12:23 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Considering the wiring is cloth covered, I'm actually leaning toward it being tinned copper.
 
  #13  
Old 10-13-14, 12:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
I agree with Justin. Since it is a rubber insulated conductor it is most likely tinned copper. Nothing to be overly concerned about. Tinned copper was used with rubber insulation because bare copper has a tendency to corrode when in contact with natural rubber.
 
  #14  
Old 10-13-14, 08:04 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
The use of No-Alox is not required for aluminum conductors. Its' use is considered a good trade practice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes