timer for light switch in basement

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-14, 07:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 211
timer for light switch in basement

I have a "light switch" in the basement that turns on and off the power to an electrical outlet I have outside my house. I use this outlet to power my Christmas lights.

I want to replace the switch with a timer that also has a switch. That would be easy for a regular house light switch, but I am unsure if I need a special timer/switch.

First, the switch box is big. It looks similar to this Switch Box Factory. To me, it looks like you can put two switches in this box. However, there is only one switch and its centered. Secondly the plate is metal. The switch is outside of the concrete wall, so its not a common interior switch.

So if I buy a timer like : Honeywell 7-Day Programmable Timer - Wall Timer Switches - Amazon.com , I don't see how I can install it in the center of that box. Or is it that easy? Is it just a matter of using a particular center plate?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-14, 07:46 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,459
You can use a 4" square single opening like in the picture below.

Name:  G1947.jpg
Views: 131
Size:  14.5 KB
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-14, 07:47 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
You only need to change the cover on the existing box to one that has a cutout for a GFI or Decora switch.

4” Square, 1/2" Raised Decorative or GFCI Receptacle Industrial Surface Cover
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'