Splicing 6awg solid ground wire?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-14, 10:17 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Splicing 6awg solid ground wire?

Is there any way to legally splice a ground wire? The wire is outside between the 2 required grounding rods.
 
  #2  
Old 10-13-14, 10:29 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
Typically the rods are only 6' apart so it would not be that hard to replace. Is there enough length to even allow a splice to be made?
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-14, 10:38 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, the wire got cut between the 2 rods, but there is enough extra behind the last clamp to get a good 4-5 inches overlap.
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-14, 10:45 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
A split bolt would be the easiest as long as it is listed for direct burial usage.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-14, 03:24 PM
dirtydickey's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Time to replace the wire likely.

Splicing your GEC is permitted by irreversible compression-type connectors listed for grounding or by exothermic welding.
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-14, 07:07 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
The conductor between the rods is a bonding jumper, not a GEC. The GEC stops at the first rod.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: