Splicing 6awg solid ground wire?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-14, 10:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Splicing 6awg solid ground wire?

Is there any way to legally splice a ground wire? The wire is outside between the 2 required grounding rods.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-14, 10:29 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,963
Received 34 Votes on 29 Posts
Typically the rods are only 6' apart so it would not be that hard to replace. Is there enough length to even allow a splice to be made?
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-14, 10:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, the wire got cut between the 2 rods, but there is enough extra behind the last clamp to get a good 4-5 inches overlap.
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-14, 10:45 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,963
Received 34 Votes on 29 Posts
A split bolt would be the easiest as long as it is listed for direct burial usage.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-14, 03:24 PM
dirtydickey's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Time to replace the wire likely.

Splicing your GEC is permitted by irreversible compression-type connectors listed for grounding or by exothermic welding.
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-14, 07:07 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,963
Received 34 Votes on 29 Posts
The conductor between the rods is a bonding jumper, not a GEC. The GEC stops at the first rod.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: