Is it safe to hook my harness into this loop?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-14, 09:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Is it safe to hook my harness into this loop?

Please see this attached image of a metal fastener bolted into the side of my building which has a cable connected to it. The other side of the cable connects to the electrcial lines next to the building. It looks like the purpose of this cable is just to prevent the electrical lines from blowing too much in heavy wind, but I don't want to hook my harness into the fastener until I'm sure I won't get electrocuted by current from the cable. When I run my non-contact voltage tester over the metal fastener, it shows no voltage. But when I touch it to the wire for the cable which is wrapped around the fastener, it makes an intermittent beep, indicating low voltage. I didn't try touching it to those twisted wires which seem to be inside the cable. I'm thinking maybe it's ghost voltage, but on the other hand if it's not I could fall off a 2 story ladder so this is serious. Does anyone have any thoughts on the safety of making use of this fastener to hook my harness into as I work on the building? Name:  rsz_20141013_143939.jpg
Views: 233
Size:  27.6 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-14, 10:02 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I wouldn't trust my life to that little anchor.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-14, 11:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
Does anyone have any thoughts on the safety of making use of this fastener to hook my harness into as I work on the building?
You're kidding us... right ? That strap is held in by two drive pin fasteners.
I wouldn't trust them to hold that wire.... never mind a safety harness.
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-14, 04:38 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
If you are even considering using this for a harness point, you don't need to be using one. As Pete indicated, surely you are kidding.
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-14, 07:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Thank you! I don't know much about this stuff. I think I'll just call a professional to do this and I'll see what he does. If he swings his leg around the ladder and then jumps on to the steep parapet and then jumps on to the flat roof, which is what I think he would need to do, I will just pay the extra money when I need to change the AC filter on the roof until I can have stairs to the roof installed internally.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'