Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Outlet doesn't work until I plug something into the adjacent one

Outlet doesn't work until I plug something into the adjacent one

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-14-14, 01:21 PM
kenstogie's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Outlet doesn't work until I plug something into the adjacent one

So as the title says I have an outlet that doesn't work until I plug something into the one 6 feet away in the same room. Quite strange.

I am not an electrical expert by any stretch but did take electricty/electronics in HS and College and know Ohms law. E/I*R stuff..... and have even read a schematic or two.

I am hoping I can figure this out my self..... SAFELY

Thanks for any guidance you can give....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-14-14, 01:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,226
You might want to start out by turning off the power, pull both receptacles out and check out the wiring for loose connections.

It would be helpful if you could describe the colors of the wires you see on both receptacles.
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-14, 06:09 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
Do you have a voltmeter? What is the voltage on the 2nd receptacle while you have something plugged in to the first?
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-14, 06:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Is this something that just started happening,has there been any work done in the room?
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 10-15-14, 06:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 378
Just a thought; the outlet that is not working are you sure it is not a switched outlet where a light switch must be on for it to work and you just happened to check the other receptacle at the same time the switch might have been in the "on" position as a coincidence which caused the non working receptacle to work. Just my two cents since you did not mention if this receptacle has worked in the past, if you just moved in to this place and unfamiliar with setup, etc. But takes two seconds to check.
 
  #6  
Old 10-15-14, 09:15 AM
kenstogie's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Wow some great ideas.

I am not sure if it has just recently happened or has been this way all along as it's a spare room that wasn't used much but with the GF moving in with her two children, well you get the idea LOL
It is not on a switch that's the first thing I thought of too.

I will tonight go home and ...

-turn off the electricity to the room and pull them out to see what's doing back there. Maybe it's a loose connection
-take a picture of what back there and post it.
-
 
  #7  
Old 10-15-14, 09:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,056
Almost sounds series wired.
 
  #8  
Old 10-15-14, 11:33 AM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
Thats what I was thinking ray. Thought it might be easier to get a voltage reading before digging around.
 
  #9  
Old 10-15-14, 02:55 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,056
Plug a lamp with an incandescent bulb into the receptacle that always works. Observe how bright the bulb is. Plug a second lamp with the same wattage incandescent bulb into the problem receptacle. Are both bulbs half as bright as normal?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes