Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Breaker trips when using two space heaters in different rooms at same time

Breaker trips when using two space heaters in different rooms at same time

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-15-14, 12:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Breaker trips when using two space heaters in different rooms at same time

According to the Panel box, two of my upstairs bedrooms feed into the same circuit, i.e., same breaker switch control the power for both. This hasn't really been an issue until we recently discovered that if an electric space heater is in use in both rooms (i.e., 2 concurrently running), the circuit breaker would always trips The trip actually would not blow right away, just sometime in the middle of the night. Is there anything that I (or an electrician) can do for this problem?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-15-14, 12:50 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,507
Yep, run a new circuit to one of the rooms.
 
  #3  
Old 10-15-14, 12:55 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,097
One space heater can pull most of the available current from a 15 amp circuit. Many heaters on high are 1'500 watts. The working capacity of a 15 amp circuit is about 1'440 watts (which is 80% of 15 amps) which limits you to one heater per circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 10-15-14, 01:07 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,850
You might try turning the heater down to the lowest setting temporarily. Normally there is a full 1500W and a half power setting.

I agree though, if this will be an ongoing thing or the heaters need to be on high all the time, dedicated lines are called for.

I have to say this...you should never run any sort of portable heater when people are sleeping. Most have tip-over controls and such...but it's still not safe.
 
  #5  
Old 10-15-14, 01:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,632
You really need dedicated circuit. General purpose receptacles are daisy chained. When you pull high amps like a heater a poor connection can start a fire if the breaker doesn't trip in any of the receptacles not just the one your using. That could be a room you seldom enter. The fire could be well established before you even realize it.
 
  #6  
Old 10-15-14, 06:45 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
Is there anything that I (or an electrician) can do for this problem?
I would get rid of the electric heaters and use the central furnace.
 
  #7  
Old 10-15-14, 06:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,632
As stated you need dedicated circuits. Better would be hard wired baseboard heater.
 
  #8  
Old 10-16-14, 06:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks all. I'll leave the circuits alone.

Also, we do rely on the central furnace, however, we also wanted (at least one of) these rooms to be slightly warmer than the rest of the house hence the space heaters.
 
  #9  
Old 10-17-14, 03:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 121
Do you have two available spots on your panel to have an electrician add a 20 amp circuit to each room?
I like having the extra warmth control in a room as well. There are plenty of safe devices to use in a room. The important thing is to have the room powered properly to support those devices.
If you have the space in your panel or if you just don't know; definitely consider asking an electrician to check it out, get advice.
Be as comfortable as you wish to be. That's what our homes are for. Just be sure to have it done right.

Good Luck! Stay warm and cozy.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'