Main breaker panel breakers movement when pressed.

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-17-14, 04:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 121
Main breaker panel breakers movement when pressed.

How snug should breakers be?
I was surprised when I pressed on the outside edge of a breaker that it moved a little.
I thought maybe it's not inserted all the way. Took the cover off and checked that it is fully slid into the tab on the outer edge and that when pressing it towards the inside that it is in all the way.
It looked just as all the breakers do. So I pressed on all the breakers and they wiggle just about as much as the first one.
I've never messed with my box before so I found this surprising.
Is this normal?
These are this type of breaker:
Siemens Recalls Circuit Breakers Due to Fire Hazard | CPSC.gov
Of which I had found a recall for Siemens breakers. I'll have them checked out to be sure they aren't of the batch of bad ones.
Good thing I looked this stuff over. Just moved here recently and I'm really ticked that the home inspector missed a few things.
I noticed that there are 2 20 amp breakers that are on 15 amp circuits. Wow. I think if there's one thing he should have checked, was that. Waste of money.

Thanks in advance for any reply.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-17-14, 05:56 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
What were the 20 amp breakers feeding?
 
  #3  
Old 10-17-14, 07:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,213
It's normal for the breakers to fit loosely in the panel. Most covers are cut out to tightly fit around the circumference of all the breakers and hold them in place.
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-14, 09:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 121
Ok, that might be why I noticed it then. The panel has a few slots snipped out, prolly why its not snug.
Thanks for explaining that.
 
  #5  
Old 10-18-14, 09:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 121
I checked the gauge of the wire into it and it's a #12.
My 20amp breaker has a #10 in it, as I checked it also.

The breaker in question(20amp w/#12 wire) has a microwave oven on it and a dishwasher on it. Plus two 20-amp GFCI twin outlets above the kitchen counter top ends. There is a coffee pot and a toaster that are plugged into those 20 amp outlets.

Thanks for the feedback.
 
  #6  
Old 10-18-14, 09:37 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
The countertop receptacle circuits should not feed the dishwasher. If the MW is over the range it should be on a dedicated circuit.
 
  #7  
Old 10-18-14, 09:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,213
You can get blanks if there are missing breaker knockouts in your panel cover. These blanks take the place and are the same size as a breaker. They also keep fingers out.
 
  #8  
Old 10-18-14, 09:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 121
The countertop receptacle circuits should not feed the dishwasher. If the MW is over the range it should be on a dedicated circuit.

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...#ixzz3GVqfrx3c
Fortunately that's not the case. The outlets above the counter have the coffee pot and the toaster on them.

My biggest concern is that #12 wire supporting 20 amps.
 
  #9  
Old 10-18-14, 10:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 121
You can get blanks if there are missing breaker knockouts in your panel cover. These blanks take the place and are the same size as a breaker. They also keep fingers out.
I did just that. I had bought a couple for replacements and used the extra to fill those vacants. Thanks!
 
  #10  
Old 10-18-14, 10:16 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Number 12 is the normal size for a 20 amp circuit.
 
  #11  
Old 10-18-14, 10:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 121
saweet! Thank goodness!
Saves me a lot of worry. And no need to touch anything there.

Thanks for the confirmation.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes