Christmas Lights: Any Reason NOT To Use 2-Pole GFCI?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-17-14, 07:31 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Christmas Lights: Any Reason NOT To Use 2-Pole GFCI?

I am installing 4 more dedicated circuits for a customer's Christmas lights. Because of the distance, I'd like to use MWBC's. Is there any negative effect of using a 2-pole GFCI breaker as opposed to 2 single pole units? Cost is not an issue here. (They already have 14 circuits) I am using a copper-bussed Siemens panel and #12 Romex if it matters any.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-17-14, 07:53 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
Someone feel free to tell me I'm on drugs here but...

I want to say no because the GFCI wants to see the same current on both the hot and neutral, and if two receptacles with two different loads are sharing that neutral, these values potentially will not match and trip the GFCI.
 
  #3  
Old 10-17-14, 08:11 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
That is the reason for using a 2-pole unit.
 
  #4  
Old 10-17-14, 08:15 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
Again, somebody else accuse me of drug use if need be....

Single or double doesn't matter, you are risking nuisance tripping because the breaker or breakers would detect a false fault.
 
  #5  
Old 10-17-14, 08:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 16
yes it will work just fine. I have a sub panel setup that uses a double pole 50 amp GFCI breaker and there is no nuscience tripping when using individual 120 volt loads from the subpanel. the breaker would only sense if there were an imbalance between the hot and neutral, the double pole breaker is designed to continually monitor both hot legs and the neutral and if any leakage occurs to ground or any other path then it will trip
 
  #6  
Old 10-17-14, 09:02 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
I`ll take that as an underlying accusation of being on drugs.
I retract my previous statements and agree with jon.
 
  #7  
Old 10-17-14, 09:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,231
The only downfall I can see is if you have a ground fault on one circuit..... you'll lose them both.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes