Furnace fan re-use

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-19-14, 12:20 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace fan re-use

Hello Electricians...

I am salvaging the squirrel fan from my old furnace. Had an updated my fuel tank and furnace (insurance protocol) and wanted to re-purpose the fan for a shop air filtration unit. I've read about constructing a clean-air box over the most used machine, and in my case it is the table saw!

My concern is the wiring and proper voltage source! (110 or 240) From close observation, the source voltage is 110v AC. I have read motor and it is 110, however, there is a transformer in the line which gives me big concern! I live in Canada where my drier is 220 and washer is 110. Has anyone else tried this and how was it wired? Voltage?

Francis
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-19-14, 12:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,402
Received 1,019 Votes on 946 Posts
Here in the States the appliances work the same way. Electric dryer is 240v and the washers are 120v.

I'm not following you in regards to the transformer. This transformer is in the house ?
The blower motor is designed to run on 120vac so connect it to 120vac.
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-14, 07:05 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,586
Received 39 Votes on 35 Posts
Are you sure that it is a transformer and not a capacitor? A transformer is commonly mounted next to the squirrel cage but not used for the motor. A picture would help.
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-14, 07:47 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,134
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
There is a problem with your plan.

You can not have an open type fan motor in the dust stream from your table saw.
Besides plugging up the motor with dust there are certain conditions where there is the possibility of a dust explosion.
 
  #5  
Old 10-20-14, 02:59 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,588
Received 200 Votes on 178 Posts
Greg, I believe he wants to make an air filter box to remove the dust from the air. Not a dust collector. The air box will have filters on one, or both, ends of the box.

Example:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]40401[/ATTACH]

I agree that your fan is likely 120 volt and should work fine.
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 10-20-14, 03:36 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,134
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
Ok, that makes sense.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: