Garage Workshop

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-14, 07:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Garage Workshop

Hi,

I am trying to figure out the best set up for using power for a garage workshop.

Details:

Workshop is storage room above garage (10x25)
Power will be run from outlet in garage up to workshop

Usage:

Space Heater (up to 1500W)
Small power tools (circular saw, dremel, router, grinder, sander)
TV, VCR, Computer(laptop)
Lights (about 4/5)

Some of the tools will be used at the same time
Space heater and lights will be used in conjunction with all most of the time.

Can a garage outlet handle this? Is there a way to set this up that it can?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-14, 08:01 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,523
Welcome to the forums.

This isn't the way to proceed and, in fact, would be a code violation if the extension cord you would need for this would be left in use all the time.

What kind of space do you have available in your circuit panel?
 
  #3  
Old 10-23-14, 08:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Thanks!

I am not sure at this time. It is a space I am renting.

Could you tell me some possible options that I could do myself to get a valid setup (I know next to nothing about electrical work though), or if I need to hire an electrition?

If you need more info, please tell me what to look/ask for and I can find out this weekend.

Also, the cord would be plugged in at all times but the surge protector will only be turned on when I am using the shop.

-another edit
The space will only be in use 1 - 2 days per week for about 4-5 hours per use.
 
  #4  
Old 10-23-14, 08:25 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,523
What is this space now that there's no electricity available in it?
 
  #5  
Old 10-23-14, 08:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
it is a storage space. There is a light socket wired through the floor from the garage with an outlet on it.

-edit
The garage is not attached to the house
 
  #6  
Old 10-23-14, 08:37 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,523
So is there a sub-panel in the garage?

I'm guessing there is not and you just have the one circuit to work with in there.
 
  #7  
Old 10-23-14, 08:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
I can find out, but yes, probably only the one circuit. If so, what are my options?
 
  #8  
Old 10-23-14, 08:49 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,523
Not much. I don't see the space heater being usable while doing anything else.

I think it's time to talk to the landlord and see what he's willing to do/spilt the cost for/allow if you pay for it so you can figure out whether this is going to be worth it to you.
 
  #9  
Old 10-23-14, 08:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Thanks. If I install if sub panel if there is not one, would that solve anything? Also, is that expensive?
 
  #10  
Old 10-23-14, 09:10 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
If I install if sub panel if there is not one, would that solve anything?
No. Your problem is you don't have enough power. The subpanel won't change that. You probably don't really need a subpanel just a new 20 amp multiwire feed and abandon in place the existing feed. (You can't by code have two feeds.)

However you can't do any of this because you are renting. With the owners permission you could hire an electrician on your dime. Even with the owners permission you can't do it because you can't pull the permit.

What you have there will probably handle the saw. The problem is the heater. You might consider a non electric heat source. If you use a non electric heat source be sure to use adequate ventilation and install a carbon monoxide detector.

Name:  0008930142900_P255045_500X500.jpg
Views: 180
Size:  17.7 KB
Image source: Wallmart
 
  #11  
Old 10-23-14, 10:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Thanks! How safe is that? The space is not that ventilated. There is a window that does not open and a door that does. The ceilings are angled.

How much risk of poison and fire would I be taking with one of those? The floors, walls and ceilings are exposed wood.

edit-
There is no insulation, so maybe that helps with the ventilation?
 
  #12  
Old 10-23-14, 10:33 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
I have always lived in old houses with plenty of drafts heated by unvented gas heaters so my opinion may be colored by personal experience rather than facts so I will defer to people who can supply better answers. One obvious hazard is dust explosion from saw dust. Perhaps you need to post in the Gas Heaters For Workshops, Sheds, Patios, Garages and Portable Units - DoItYourself.com Community Forums if you go that route.
 
  #13  
Old 10-23-14, 10:33 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,865
I use a single burner heater like that on really cold days in my 20x25 ft garage, but it's fully insulated. I open the garage door an inch and get plenty of ventilation. Only issue is that it does produce quite a bit of moisture and I can get condensation on the windows. Also found that some of my steel tools developed a bit of rust which had never happened prior. No big deal, just a slight patina.

I like those heaters since they warm objects, not air, then the heat is re-radiated.

NOT good for a dusty sawdust filled work area though.
 
  #14  
Old 10-23-14, 10:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Thanks for the replies.

Yes, it will be considerably dusty. And reading about open flames from the heaters does not sounds like a good idea for what I am doing.

The only way to run an electric heater is by adding a 20 amp multiwire feed in place of the original feed, which is against code? Why? It is a fire hazard?

Thanks!
 
  #15  
Old 10-23-14, 11:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
The original feed is not against code. However you can only have one feed so the original feed must be abandoned if you run a new feed.
 
  #16  
Old 10-23-14, 11:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,280
Installation

Talk to your landlord about hiring an electrician to do this work.
 
  #17  
Old 10-23-14, 11:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Thanks. How much do you think to abandon the original feed and run a new one? And with that I could run a 1500w space heater? and what was that about a permit?
 
  #18  
Old 10-23-14, 12:09 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,523
Step one is you need to talk to your landlord about this - he has to sign off first.
 
  #19  
Old 10-23-14, 12:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Landlord is fine with it. I would have to pay though
 
  #20  
Old 10-23-14, 12:16 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,523
Cool - first hurdle conquered

The problem with online estimation like this is we can't see all the variables so it's best to have three or more contractors come out and bid the job so you can compare and ask questions (of them and of us).
 
  #21  
Old 10-23-14, 12:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Thanks, although is there a ballpark figure? I need to know if it's remotely possible.
 
  #22  
Old 10-23-14, 12:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
It costs almost nothing to abandon the original cable really since it is just disconnected and cut to short to re use at both end. However it is the other costs that will add up.
  • Both the garage and the store room will have to be connected to the new power supply.
  • There could be code violations in the garage which needs correcting.
  • A trench either 18" deep (conduit) or 24" (direct burial cable) between the house and garage.
  • you will need wire (conduit) or cable (direct burial) to run from main panel to garage.
  • if no 240 breaker space in the main panel then extra work may be needed.
  • After accessing the job the electrician may decide you need a subpanel instead of a multiwire circuit.
I would be surprised if the cost wasn't well in excess of $750.
 
  #23  
Old 10-23-14, 12:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Wow! Thanks. I probably cannot use the space when it's too cold unless there is some other option that presents itself.

Thanks for all the help!
 
  #24  
Old 10-23-14, 01:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
What about an Infrared Heater?
 
  #25  
Old 10-23-14, 01:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
  #26  
Old 10-23-14, 01:59 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
Infrared heaters can be gas or electric or kerosene or catalytic such as one that use Coleman fuel. The one I posted a picture of is infrared. Catalytic because it doesn't use an open flame might be safer. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catalytic_heater
 
  #27  
Old 10-23-14, 02:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
So the one you posted looks good. That would work in a workshop setting? Will be sawdust.
 
  #28  
Old 10-23-14, 02:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
Not familiar enough with it to answer. I suggest you start a thread in: Gas Heaters For Workshops, Sheds, Patios, Garages and Portable Units - DoItYourself.com Community Forums
 
  #29  
Old 10-23-14, 02:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Great, thanks for all your help!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'