2 in 1 switch help needed

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-24-14, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 71
2 in 1 switch help needed

I am going to be replacing 2 separate 2 in 1 switches. Standard style to a rocker style.

One controls garbage disposal & light over sink.

Other one controls heat lamp in bathroom & light.

I picked up 2 Pass & Seymour 2 in 1 switches model TM811-WCC6.

It has 2 black and 2 gold terminals. (One set for each switch I assume).

On the back there is a tab that says "remove tab to split circuit."

I should remove it correct? Or does it depend on how many wires are on the original switch?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-24-14, 12:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
It depends on if power is at the switch or the load. If power is at the switch it depends on if you have one power in or two power in or one power in and one switch loop.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-14, 12:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,102
You'll need to look and see if the two switches share a common black wire. Sometimes it comes into the box goes to one switch and loops to second switch. Other times there is a splice inside the box.
 
  #4  
Old 10-29-14, 11:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 71
Ok,
I had a chance to pull one of them apart and this is what I got with the old switch.

It is a 2 gang box with a 2 in one switch and then an outlet.

There are 3 sets of romex coming in the box. Two from the top and one from the bottom with only one hot wire, from one of the top sets of romex.

The 2 top sets of white wires are wire connected together then a pigtail goes to the outlet.
Then the white wire from the bottom romex goes to the outlet too (the same side as the other pigtail)

The 2 top sets of black wires (one is hot) goes to one switch (one black wire on each side of the top switch)

The other switch gets a black wire from the bottom romex and then also a pigtail goes from that 2nd switch to the outlet.

The old 2 in 1 has 4 brass screws on one side (2 screws) says line.
The new one does not say anything but there are 2 brass screws and 2 black screws (assuming black is the line (hot). The black screws are on each side of the switch diagonal from each other.
Then it has the remove tab to spit circuit on the back.

Any help on how to hook it up with the new switch will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 10-29-14, 12:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 71
I got it. Thanks anyways. Maybe I'll need some help on the next one
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes