Would you repair this? MC/AC conduit

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-14, 05:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 281
Would you repair this? MC/AC conduit

While changing a light fixture I noticed that the box was connected with a MC/AC metal whip (not sure of the correct term, I have all emt system). I followed it back to a junction box 5' away (the whip is 5') In that junction box I notice they didn't use an anti-short bushing. There is also not a ground conductor ran between the two boxes (ie length greater than 3' needs separate ground.)

In order to pull a ground and add the bushing I would need to disasmble that junction box which contains wires from 3 different circuits. The ground would likely not pull thru the 3/8 whips with ease either. I would likely be opening up a can of worms.

I tested and the boxes appear grounded and I have the whip supported so I am not sure if I should be concerned about the lack of bushing either.

Is this something that I should be correcting? Would you open this can of worms?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-14, 06:09 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
MC cable does not require an anti short bushing to be installed. Some MC cable does not have an insulated ground wire, however this is newer type of MC cable called MCAP.

This whip might not be MC/AC cable at all. Many fixture whips are made up of 3/8" flexible metal conduit. FMC less than 6' long and 20 amps or less does not require a ground.

You should confirm what you have before opening the worms.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-14, 06:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 281
Hey TOlyn- Its likely flexible metal conduit... no preinstalled conductors. Its about 5' in length on a 15A circuit so I am good to go without the separate ground. Its the redhead that I am missing.
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-14, 06:24 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Redheads are not used on FMC.
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-14, 06:28 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
Its likely flexible metal conduit... no preinstalled conductors. Its about 5' in length so I am good to go without the separate ground. Its the redhead that I am missing.
The redhead isn't required, strictly optional.
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-14, 08:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 281
are you sure it isn't 3' for the separate ground conductor?
 
  #7  
Old 11-01-14, 10:10 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Yes. See 350.118(5) (2011)
 
  #8  
Old 11-01-14, 10:58 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
If the flex is that small it is probably a cable and not flex conduit.
 
  #9  
Old 11-01-14, 12:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 281
Thanks for the code reference Tolyn.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'