replacing a single circuit - LEGALLY ???

Old 11-01-14, 10:28 AM
replacing a single circuit - LEGALLY ???

I would like to update some of the wiring in my 1949 ranch home.

INFO:

There is the original wires which account for about %25 of the whole system.

A 200 amp circuit breaker box was added in 1981, but I dont think it has
ground path components.

I would like to replace some of the original circuits in my spare time. That
wiring (old braided wires) looks bad.

So here is my question

Can I replace one circuit at a time, or would I need to update the entire system?

My main concern is getting the old wires replaced with new wires.

I want to do it by code. ( Atlanta Georgia )

I know some basics about electricity, but I am no electrician.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-01-14, 11:12 AM
Group Moderator
A 200 amp circuit breaker box was added in 1981, but I dont think it has ground path components.
Not quite sure what you mean by that. Are you talking about the main service panel ?
That may have a ground rod connected and should have a ground line to the water service.

You could post a pic or two of the inside of the panel and we could look it over.
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...rt-images.html

As far as running new circuits.... you can replace your old wiring one circuit at a time.

Old 11-01-14, 12:27 PM
Actually its a 150 amp service panel. It does seem to be grounded. The nuetral bus bar has a big fat copper wire leaving the panel and it is attached to a copper hot water line.

Name:  photo(2).jpg
Views: 1089
Size:  39.1 KB

Let me know if you need a better pic
Thanks

Last edited by ray2047; 11-01-14 at 01:17 PM. Reason: Rotate image.
Old 11-01-14, 12:34 PM
you can clearly see the old wiring on the left, and the newer wiring on the right.

Old 11-01-14, 02:35 PM
The nuetral bus bar has a big fat copper wire leaving the panel and it is attached to a copper hot water line.