Replacing ceiling fan wall switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-02-14, 08:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing ceiling fan wall switch

I removed a ceiling fan/light wall switch that only had two wires coming out of it. The one I bought to replace has four: one AC in; one out to lights; one out to fan; and a ground. In the wall box, there is one hot; two black that I assume go to other outlets switches; three neutral; and a ground.

I've tried different combinations and haven't fixed it.

Suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-02-14, 08:56 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,518
Received 505 Votes on 475 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Some ceiling fans used a special control that would communicate multiple commands over two wires. If the switch you pulled out can control both fan and light.... then you need to replace it with a same brand/type switch.

Can you post any more info on the old switch.... like brand and model.
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-14, 09:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Both switches are harbor Breeze - old one with two wires, new one with four.Name:  photo2.jpg
Views: 491
Size:  30.0 KB
 
  #4  
Old 11-02-14, 09:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Box and new switch

Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 278
Size:  31.0 KB
 
  #5  
Old 11-02-14, 10:22 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
The single black is probably the power into the box. The black and red in the same cable would typically go to the fan box. The new switch should have labels for the terminals.
 
  #6  
Old 11-02-14, 10:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,518
Received 505 Votes on 475 Posts
Your old controller is as I described it. It controls the fan by sending commands up to the fan on the hot wire. That is a two part system..... the control you removed and the receiver end in the fan.

In order to replace the switch like you'd like to do..... you may have to remove the remote control board in the fan and change the supply wiring.
 
  #7  
Old 11-02-14, 10:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do I need to incorporate the neutrals that are capped? I cannot remember if they were capped when I opened the box months ago.
 
  #8  
Old 11-02-14, 10:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,518
Received 505 Votes on 475 Posts
No... the neutrals remain as they are.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: