Photocell/Timer for Backyard Floodlights. Help Please.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-02-14, 09:26 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking Photocell/Timer for Backyard Floodlights. Help Please.

This may be, hopefully, a fairly easy question to answer. I have two large post affixed with flood lights for a now nonexistent volleyball court. The lights are manually controlled by a Carlon toggle switch. I have dogs, which cause them and I to frequently be in the backyard, especially after dark. It's an inconvenience to walk all the way to the rear of the yard to manually turn the lights on to illuminate the rear of the yard.

My idea was to replace the Carlon toggle switch with either a photocell or timer (waterproof of course). Anyone have any ideas? Can I place a normal residential indoor timer in a waterproof housing? Please help, thanks!
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 11-02-14, 11:24 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the forums! It will greatly depend on how power is derived. Pulling the switch with the power removed will tell if you have a neutral in the box. You will need one for most timers. Look to see if you have white wires nutted together in the box.
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-14, 12:16 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok. There is a white (neutral). Could a normal household timer be installed with a waterproof housing?
 
  #4  
Old 11-02-14, 01:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
There is a white (neutral)
Color alone doesn't mean it is a neutral. If there is only one white wire and it is on the switch you don't have a neutral.
 
  #5  
Old 11-02-14, 02:34 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,758
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
The best solution would be to just replace the floodlights on one pole with a motion detecting floodlight and leave the switch in "ON" position 24/7.
 
  #6  
Old 11-02-14, 10:38 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How about a photocell that fits in the switch box? If you have a plastic box you will need to ground the steel plate.

Image Credit: Amazon.com
 
  #7  
Old 11-03-14, 03:30 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Justin, he wants a motion sensor, not a photocell. I would change the first light to motion sensing, or add a sensor to the configuration.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: