Shop power

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-07-14, 06:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shop power

Hi all,
I have a building that is about 80 ft from my homes main power box , what would be the best way to run power from the house main to the shop , I want to run some electric hand tools and air compressor ( small Sears compressor ) and lights etc.
I am not sure what wire to get ( 6/2 ?) to carry the load that distance and how I should wire it to the main at the house .
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-07-14, 06:37 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,998
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
A 60 amp sub panel will suite many shops while having expansion capacity. Subpanels are a frequently discussed topic on this board. You can search to get some ideas of the scope of your project.
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-14, 07:25 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What about a second drop from the power company?
 
  #4  
Old 11-07-14, 07:29 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,998
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Some will not allow two drops to a property. The second meter often triggers a commercial rate which is higher than residential.
 
  #5  
Old 11-07-14, 09:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What should I have in place for them to do a second drop ie panels and such
 
  #6  
Old 11-07-14, 09:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oops , I think I would have too be commercial like pic boss said
 
  #7  
Old 11-07-14, 09:31 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,998
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
You could check with your power company and local building office.
 
  #8  
Old 11-07-14, 09:47 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
In my area you can get a second drop pretty reasonable price if your property has an agriculture zoning code (even if it's not really a farm). Agreed that your power company should be able to give you the best guidance on that.

If you want to run other utilities between the buildings (internet, phone, water, etc) then you really ought to power the shop from the house main panel.
 
  #9  
Old 11-07-14, 03:01 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I have a second pad mount transformer and power to my shop, but it is close to 1/4 mile from the house transformer. They charged me a flat $100 setting fee. I had to install the meter base. Grounding rods and panel. No special charges. Check with the POCO.
 
  #10  
Old 11-07-14, 03:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,998
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
That was a heck of a deal Larry. I had a customer move a overhead drop around the corner of their house without moving the anchor and the bill was $900.
 
  #11  
Old 11-07-14, 03:44 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Guess it was luckily the 15k primary was 15 feet from the back of the shop. Basically a tap and run
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: