which junction box for recessed light?


  #1  
Old 11-08-14, 08:14 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
which junction box for recessed light?

Found an open splice in the ceiling above this recessed light.
What junction box should I use to contain the splice as the accrual recessed light is not mounted to any junction box directly?
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BwSN...p=docslist_api
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BwSN...p=docslist_api
 
  #2  
Old 11-08-14, 09:43 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
Recessed light housings/cans typically have their own wiring compartment or box. Has the box been removed from that can? If so, I'd think about replacing the can.
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-14, 10:05 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The can just has wires connecting directly to the light bulb socket.
 
  #4  
Old 11-08-14, 10:16 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
You have the can down, replace it with a retrofit old work can.
 
  #5  
Old 11-08-14, 11:30 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
So the nm cable should go directly into the can and connect there?
 
  #6  
Old 11-08-14, 11:35 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
So the nm cable should go directly into the can and connect there?
Not exactly. It should go to the connection box on the side of the recessed light.

Name:  recessed-lighting-new-construction-300x300.jpg
Views: 3475
Size:  10.5 KB
 
  #7  
Old 11-08-14, 12:33 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Isn't that the same as just adding a junction box in the space next to the can in the ceiling? Maybe with a closed front cover?
 
  #8  
Old 11-08-14, 12:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
That box is a part of the light.It comes with the light, whip pre-wired. If your can doesn't have one then as Larry stated replace the light.
 
  #9  
Old 11-08-14, 03:22 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Can't see how all those brackets would fit through a 6.5" drywall hole?
Do I need those brackets to hold the light up?
 
  #10  
Old 11-08-14, 03:29 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I'm not sure if the pic is of an actual remodel fixture. Just do a search for "remodel can light" and you'll see how it works. Spring loaded clips hold it in place.
 
  #11  
Old 11-08-14, 04:22 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
  #12  
Old 11-08-14, 04:27 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
That's actually the first one that showed up on my search Larry, but I didn't want to make it too easy. lol

Plus not sure if qwerty has HD in his area.
 
  #13  
Old 11-08-14, 07:35 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,974
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The picture shown was a new work fixture. Old work fixtures do not have the same frame.
 
  #14  
Old 11-08-14, 07:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
It was never specified if the original box was old work or new work but since it was an existing box it was not unlikely to be a new work box. The image illustrated what might be there not a replacement.
 
  #15  
Old 11-09-14, 06:50 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
I don't know, Jim. The "T" slot on the side tells me there were clips holding it in place. Of course the can could have been molded for both installation methods. What is missing is the junction box and the metal whip.
 
  #16  
Old 11-09-14, 07:40 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,974
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Sorry Larry, I was talking about the fixture Ray showed.
 
  #17  
Old 11-09-14, 07:53 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Oh, OK, yeah that is a new construction box for sure.
 
  #18  
Old 11-09-14, 03:40 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The clips held the light fixture to the can bit for some reason the previous owner then used silicone to secure the fixture to the ceiling as the can was not secured to anything.
 
  #19  
Old 11-09-14, 05:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Qwerty, sorry we went on a bit of a tangent. Has your question been answered.
 
  #20  
Old 11-09-14, 08:24 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
All apart from whether it's OK by code to just install a junction box next to the can ?
I'll probably end up buying a new can as this one isn't supported by anything apart from sealant but just wondering.
 
  #21  
Old 11-09-14, 08:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
A new old work light would be best because the box is supposed to be part of the light and is usually connected with a metal whip. Then there is the issue of the thermal protector wiring.
 
  #22  
Old 11-19-14, 10:27 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thermal protector wiring?
As an aside, the junction box attached to the can - isn't that sort of like a violation of code by "hiding" the junction box behind a drywall ceiling?
 
  #23  
Old 11-19-14, 10:36 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,974
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The junction box is considered accessible, no violation.

The thermal is built into the fixture. If you used a regular junction box an important safety feature would be left out.
 
  #24  
Old 11-19-14, 01:05 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
So, should all recessed lights without a thermal be replaced?
I don't think any of them in the house have them as they are all old recessed lights.

Secoindly, the wires connect from the halogen light bulb holder and go straight up through the top of the can - this means the wires are directly in the heat zone within the can - never had any problems. The wires then drape out the top of the can and over the side - are those supposed to be replaced as well?
 
  #25  
Old 11-19-14, 04:57 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
If all your can lights are like those in post #1, and you know about them, yes, they all need to be replaced by old work cans. You cannot have exposed wiring and bcaps up in the void of the ceiling without protection.
 
  #26  
Old 11-20-14, 06:59 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,657
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
There are 2 others that I have seen which are smaller lights, possibly the 3inch ones but
- a junction box has been used for the connection and then buried in pink insulation, The junction box has a switch plate cover used instead of a blank
- insulation covers the light.
Will the cans have any markings on them to say if they are the types that can be used with insulation over them?
 
  #27  
Old 11-20-14, 07:54 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,974
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
There should be some sort of labeling on the fixtures stating IC or non-IC.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: