3 switches to one switch.......want to get this right


  #1  
Old 11-08-14, 12:55 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3 switches to one switch.......want to get this right

Hello,

I have three switches on three different walls. Each switch controls 2-3 ceiling lights. I have attached pics of the switches and lights. I wish to move the switches to a different wall. That wall already has a box installed and I purchased a switch with three rockers on it. I assume each side would have three screws so I could just connect the existing wires and be done. But one side has three and the other only has one. Thoughts on the best way to do thisName:  1.JPG
Views: 270
Size:  39.2 KB
Name:  2.JPG
Views: 241
Size:  40.3 KB
Name:  3.JPG
Views: 229
Size:  38.7 KB
Name:  4.JPG
Views: 248
Size:  40.9 KB
Name:  5.JPG
Views: 213
Size:  49.3 KB
Name:  6.JPG
Views: 224
Size:  44.1 KB
 
  #2  
Old 11-08-14, 01:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Do all three lights share a common breaker? Are they switch loops? I see no neutrals at the switches. If they are switch loops the switch you have won't work.
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-14, 02:17 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, they are each on their own breaker. OK, so what looked like a good solution is not going to work. Is this possible to do or will I need to have a separate switch for each one.
 
  #4  
Old 11-08-14, 06:42 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,254
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
You will need three switches. The switch you have works for three objects on one circuit. The black feeds power to all three switches. Each brass screw is a switched hot.
 
  #5  
Old 11-08-14, 07:35 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm assuming you are re-routing all 3 switch cables to one location.
You will need either a 3 gang box and f clips
http://www.ujr.ca/EN/4203200.jpg

Or go through the effort of installing a contactor controlled by a single switch.

Or possibly throw all the lights on one circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 11-09-14, 06:40 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,818
Received 108 Votes on 95 Posts
I'm assuming you are re-routing all 3 switch cables to one location.
Not that it makes much difference to the solution, but these aren't NM cables, it must be a conduit system. I have never seen an insulated green stranded ground wire in NM cable nor have I seen orange conductors in NM cable. I would put all the lights on one circuit.
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-14, 10:46 AM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good catch joe, I didn't notice that.
If he has emt above a tiled ceiling, this might no be a bad project to swap some wires around.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: