Miswired 10-50R Dryer Outlet and Replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-14, 10:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 47
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Miswired 10-50R Dryer Outlet and Replacement

Hey ya'll, new to the forum so hopefully I don't screw this up.

I am an electrical engineer but haven't designed a circuit in years and mostly small digital things at that. Working familiarity with NEC and electrician type work, but definitely a journeyman DIYer.

That said, Wifey and I just bought a new house, built in 1963 so some of the electrical is a bit dated. There was no washer/dryer when we moved in so we just bought one from Sears.

The dryer outlet is a 10-50R Outlet pictured below:

Name:  NEMA 10-50R Dryer Outlet.jpg
Views: 657
Size:  7.1 KB

But the plug the installers put on the dryer is a 10-30P:

Name:  NEMA 10-30P Dryer Plug.jpg
Views: 727
Size:  18.6 KB

And my breaker box has a 30 Amp circuit to the dryer (top left bar):

Name:  Breaker Box - 30A Dryer Circuit (Top).jpg
Views: 979
Size:  32.2 KB


Here is where it gets dicey. I cut the power and pulled the receptacle. This is the (perceived) mess I found:

Name:  NEMA 10-50R Dryer Outlet Box.jpg
Views: 853
Size:  26.2 KB

Tested it with my multimeter and confirmed I have expected values (240 from red to black, 120 from red/bare and black/bare, also 120 from red/white and black/white and 0 from bare/white). The bare ground wire was hooked directly up to the outlet while the white wire was just inserted in the box as you see, stripped with no wirenut or tape on it.

Awful current wiring setup aside, does this mean that I can just install a 14-30R outlet on the circuit? I can just return the 10-30P plug and get a 14-30P instead.

Thanks for your time.

Nate
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-09-14, 10:15 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, you are correct. Curious what size wire did they run? You might have to pigtail if that is #6.
I can just return the 10-30P plug and get a 14-30P instead.
Yes, but check the ground in the dryer is not connected to the neutral.
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-14, 10:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 47
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for confirming ray. Always good to have a sanity check.

I'm not sure how to determine the wire size? Would I need to pull the wire further from the box to look at the sheathing?

The dryer is designed for either 10-30p or 14-30p per the instructions so it should be an easy swap.
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-14, 10:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I'm not sure how to determine the wire size?
No need to determine actual size. If it fits the receptacle no problem. If it is too large you may have to pigtail on short lengths of #10 THHN/THWN wire.
 
  #5  
Old 11-09-14, 11:49 AM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think that is 10 AWG. I've never seen solid conductors larger than 10.
 
  #6  
Old 11-09-14, 12:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 47
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ray: understood. It didn't feel like it was too thick to wrap. I'll take some pics of the final product and post them for closure.
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-14, 12:21 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,050
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
I've never seen solid conductors larger than 10.
I've seen various colors of #8 solid copper TW, but it was a very long time ago.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: