Abandon Circuit Wire in Box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-14, 06:14 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Abandon Circuit Wire in Box?

I'm in the process of remodeling my kitchen. The fridge and range hood were neither one on a dedicated circuits. It is my plan to install two new breakers and run new circuits to both appliances (the range hood will be replaced by an OTR microwave).

But I'm wondering what to do about the existing wiring. I really don't want to open the walls to remove wiring back to the panel. So what do I do with these unnecessary/unwanted wiring? Should I cap them off with wire nuts and leave them in the box?

P.S. I also wanted to ask about the dishwasher that I'm planning to put in (there has never been one so this is an addition). Would a dishwasher and fridge (or dishwasher and OTR microwave) overload a circuit if they're the only things on the circuit? I *think* the main issue of concern is that one or the other could create a surge. There are surge suppressor outlets available and I figured I'd put one on both appliances.
 
  #2  
Old 11-09-14, 07:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You abandon in place by cutting to short to reuse on both ends and pushing the ends into the wall if possible.
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-14, 08:01 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,223
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
If the box has enough cubic inch capacity you can cap them in the back of the box.

The refrigerator can be on one of the 20 amp small appliance countertop circuits.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: