Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Advice on two 220V outlets to charge two electric vehicles

Advice on two 220V outlets to charge two electric vehicles

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-14, 06:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 5
Advice on two 220V outlets to charge two electric vehicles

Hello all,

I want to install two 220v outlets under a carport for two electric plugin hybrids. Both cars draw 16 amps maximum but I want to overbuild for future car upgrade. I have 200 amp service and a 100 amp subpanel that is wired with 6/3 wire but is not connected to the breakers. The question is, can I run more 6/3 wire to the outlets that will be 45 feet away in series or parallel from the subpanel? or should I run from the 200 amp panel bigger wire? I am not installing EV chargers (box) but using Aerovironment 220v chargers (Turbocord). Will most likely have an electrician do all the hookups.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-09-14, 06:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
Welcome to the forums.

You may have a 100amp sub panel connected with 6/3 cable but what is the breaker size for it in the main panel ?

6/3 should be connected to a two pole 60A breaker max..... which yields you a sub panel capacity of 60amps.

6/3 to the charger receptacles sounds like a bit oversized.
For 240v service you should only need two wire cable. That cable would contain two hots and a ground.

!0/2 would yield 30A and 8/2 would yield 45A.
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-14, 07:56 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,363
In my limited reading the 240 volt chargers are 40 amps. Can you check the specs?
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-14, 08:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
I've found the charger the OP mentions.
I do have one question.... will it charge fast enough for your vehicle ?

AeroVironment TurboCord 240-Volt 16-Amp Plug-In EV Charger
 
  #5  
Old 11-09-14, 09:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 5
Thanks all,
"I do have one question.... will it charge fast enough for your vehicle ?
Yes, currently 110v charge in 6 hours 220v reports to charge in 2.5-3 hours.

"6/3 should be connected to a two pole 60A breaker max..... which yields you a sub panel capacity of 60amps."
Yes, the wire is connected to a two pole 60A breaker. The plan is that in the future if cars require more amps to charge faster I will not have to rewire.

What about the question regarding serial or parallel wiring for both outlets? Will the wire be enough to support two vehicles drawing 16 amps at the same time?
 
  #6  
Old 11-09-14, 09:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,673
What about the question regarding serial or parallel wiring for both outlets?
AC isn't wired in series.
Will the wire be enough to support two vehicles drawing 16 amps at the same time?
32 amps on wire rated for 60 amps shouldn't be a problem.
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-14, 09:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
You would run two cables to either the sub panel or the main panel. Each charger would have it's own 20A breaker. Be advised that 6/3 will probably not fit into the charger receptacle or the breaker. You would have to add #12 taps at each end.
 
  #8  
Old 11-09-14, 10:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 5
Thanks, I will advise the electrician who connects all the wires. So I will have two runs of 6/3 from the subpanel to the outlets. Question, will I have to rewire if the cars are upgraded to say a Tesla that pulls 50 amps? Should I just wire now for the 50 amp draw for each car and what size wire should I run?
 
  #9  
Old 11-10-14, 07:14 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
I would just install (or have your electrician install) 3/4" or 1" PVC conduits to the carport chargers. Put the basic 20A circuit in there today for your standard charger. When you upgrade to a bigger charger in the future you can just swap in bigger wires. This saves you from having to guess what size and type you might eventually need.
 
  #10  
Old 11-10-14, 08:11 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
So I will have two runs of 6/3 from the subpanel to the outlets.
If you were planning on running 6-3 NM-B cable (aka romex), keep in mind that NM-B cable cannot be run outside at the carport. I'd take Ibpooks advice and install individual conductors in conduit.

Question, will I have to rewire if the cars are upgraded to say a Tesla that pulls 50 amps? Should I just wire now for the 50 amp draw for each car and what size wire should I run?
You said your subpanel is fed with 60 amps. If you upgrade and need 50 amps, you may have to run the circuit all the way back to the main 200 amp panel depending on existing load in the 60 amp subpanel. You also mentioned you would be running two circuits to the chargers with 6-3. You defintely cannot power two 50 amp circuits from a 60 amp subpanel. If using the subpanel, you are just wasting your money to run anything larger than two circuits with 10-3.
 
  #11  
Old 11-10-14, 05:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 5
Thanks again all. Will use individual wires or UF-B cable in conduit. I'm thinking 100ft 10/3 UF-B at home depot for $194. 2 separate runs to subpanel. Now I just need a big box to hold the outlet and Charge cord.
 
  #12  
Old 11-10-14, 05:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,673
Best practice is to not use cable in conduit except for short sections for protection. It is difficult to pull and two would be even more difficult plus the increase in conduit size that would be needed.
Thanks, I will advise the electrician who connects all the wires.
If he isn't a good friend best to let him make the decisions on how and what. You may even have difficulty finding one who is willing to "just make the connections". It will be his permits and license on the line after all is done. He might even charge extra to correct anything he doesn't like..
 
  #13  
Old 11-10-14, 06:01 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,363
If the charger is straight 240 you would only need xx-2 cable, not xx-3.
 
  #14  
Old 11-10-14, 07:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,673
Did I miss why you don't just put a subpanel in the carport and fasten your receptacles directly to that subpanel using two nipples and two boxes. Just " or 1" conduit with two #6 and 0ne #10 from the house.
 
  #15  
Old 11-10-14, 09:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 5
Hi Ray,

I could I guess. I was trying to utilize the subpanel that exists already from a jacuzzi tub that was removed. The sub is already wired with 3 #6 and 1 #10. The wires were disconnected both at the main panel and sub for safety when we removed the tub. I was trying to figure out options to use the sub since the wires are already there.
 
  #16  
Old 11-11-14, 06:34 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,673
My option would work fine from that subpanel. If it is an outside panel you could even replace it with a junction box and move it to the carport.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-11-14 at 07:07 AM.
  #17  
Old 11-11-14, 09:51 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
If the charger is straight 240 you would only need xx-2 cable, not xx-3.
I guess I missed that the voltage was just 240 volts, PC is correct.

I was trying to utilize the subpanel that exists already from a jacuzzi tub that was removed. The sub is already wired with 3 #6 and 1 #10.
That could serve your needs for now and that subpanel feeder could be extended to the carport area, but not if you upgrade to need two 50 amp circuits.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'