110v/60 Hz current in 220v/50 Hz country

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-11-14, 01:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
110v/60 Hz current in 220v/50 Hz country

Hi folks,

I am moving to a country where the AC current is 220v/50 Hz. I am building my house there and would like to know if there is a simple way to run some wires to have some outlets be 110v/60hz. The 110 part would be easily achievable, I think, using a 110/220 main panel, right? But how do I get around the 50hz issue? I don't want to damage my 60Hz. appliances.

Thanks to all for taking the time to read and respond.

-Lou
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-11-14, 02:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No there is not a really easy way. The problem is the frequency. Voltage can be reduced with a simple transformer but changing the frequency is more complicated. I the old days they would have used an MG set but but now it is electronic. Google frequency converter for more information. Note pure resistive loads and universal motors are not frequency sensitive but some older electronics and brushless motors are.
 
  #3  
Old 11-11-14, 05:48 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't believe you could get a 110/220V panel in those countries without a transformer as ray said.
240V here is phase to phase. 240V, I believe, in these countries is each phase. So while we have a 120/240V panel, they would have a 240V/400 some V panel.

Why do you require 120V 60Hz? If it is appliances and electronics, I would just sell them and buy new ones.
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-14, 06:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you so much guys. That's what I was afraid the answer was, but had to ask people who knew their stuff. I wanted to bring the appliances from here, because where I am going they are so expensive in comparison. But I think that the trouble necessary to make this happen is not worse the savings. Thanks again.
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-14, 03:11 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One other thing to consider if it makes you feel any better...

If you set your house up for 120V 60Hz, what happens when your appliances conk out and you're in a country selling and repairing 240V 50Hz?
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-14, 07:42 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Which country are you going to?

I see no technical reason why you couldn't run a few US standard circuits around the house back to a US-style panel and power that panel from a central phase/voltage converter. The logistical issues with getting the US equipment into the country and installed in accordance with local codes could be far more hassle than it's worth to just buy a few point-of-use converters for the appliances you want to keep.
 
  #7  
Old 12-06-14, 10:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 282
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello form Norway.
we have 230V 50Hz and our codes limits use of e.g. North american standard plugs and outlets, so if you converts to 120V 50 or 60 HZ, you will have to use some ugly huge industry standard outlets.

On the other hand pretty much of your equipment may run well on 50 Hz using a plug in transformer. These are still not by code, but more discrete, and you have not violated the building codes.
If you comes to Norway a standard outlet are fused with 10 maybe 16 amps, and the electric range 20 or sometimes 24 amps. In Sweden the range might have 400V 3 phase 16 amp outlet...

Please PM me if you need specific advice of adapt an imprtant machine/unit of yours.
 
  #8  
Old 12-06-14, 02:37 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Hello form Norway.
Is that Norway, Alabama? ................
 
  #9  
Old 12-07-14, 07:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 282
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #10  
Old 12-07-14, 08:04 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Norway Europe.
Oh, Ok. You confused me with your profile location being state of Alabama.
 
  #11  
Old 12-07-14, 08:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 282
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you, that error should have been corrected no.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: