Garage Heater Install

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-12-14, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,456
Garage Heater Install

Garage has a Square D QO panel with 100 amp main breaker. Heater is 240 volt, 30 amps with a NEMA #6-30P cord.

I plan to use a 1" nipple to a single gang steel box directly under panel. Anything special I need to do here?

Heater just arrived and the plug is huge. Will the receptacle fit in a single box or do I need to get a 4" one?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-14, 01:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
A 4" box will make it a lot easier.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-12-14 at 03:35 PM.
  #3  
Old 11-12-14, 01:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,456
I just talked to my brother and he did the same thing for his compressor. Instead of a nipple he used a clamp inside the box and put the nut inside the panel, never thought of that.

Is that legal?
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-14, 01:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Attaching receptacles to a panel using a nipple is done all the time, no problem. If panel is surface mounted you can use an off set nipple if need so the receptacle box can be fastened to the wall. If the heater came with a cord set then it is intended to be plugged in.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-12-14 at 03:35 PM.
  #5  
Old 11-12-14, 02:26 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
Use a 4x4 deep box and a taylor cover if you wish to avoid a lot of swearing.
http://onwede.goecart.net/images/pro...thepit/231.jpg
http://media.mydoitbest.com/imagereq...=C&newsize=200
 
  #6  
Old 11-12-14, 03:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,456
Excellent! Thanks guys.
 
  #7  
Old 11-12-14, 05:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,456
One Last Question

With a metal box you need a ground jumper to the screw in the back of the box. Is that necessary with this receptacle?





I think I've lucked out. For the plug to hang properly I'll have to mount the receptacle upside down (ground up) which means the holes for the wires will be facing up, towards the panel. Perfect. I think?
 
  #8  
Old 11-12-14, 06:38 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
I plan to use a 1" nipple to a single gang steel box directly under panel. Anything special I need to do here?
You need to use 2 locknuts and a bushing at each end of the nipple. 3/4" is plenty big enough for 30 amps.

With a metal box you need a ground jumper to the screw in the back of the box. Is that necessary with this receptacle?
If you run a ground wire it must be bonded to the metal box.

I think I've lucked out. For the plug to hang properly I'll have to mount the receptacle upside down (ground up) which means the holes for the wires will be facing up, towards the panel. Perfect. I think?
As far as wiring, it makes no difference.
 
  #9  
Old 11-13-14, 01:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,456
Sorry, I must be having a brain cramp. How do I attach the receptacle in #7 to a 4" box when all the ones I've found only have screw holes in two corners?



Thanks
 
  #10  
Old 11-13-14, 02:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Normally the receptacle attaches to the cover plate not the box.

Name:  imagerequest.aspx.jpeg
Views: 134
Size:  6.1 KB
 
  #11  
Old 11-13-14, 03:44 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
You can also get covers that have 4 screws in them for a little extra support.
All taylor covers are designed that way, device attaches to the plate and the plate attaches to the box.
 
  #12  
Old 11-13-14, 05:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,456
Normally the receptacle attaches to the cover plate not the box.
Okay and yes the R has those holes so that clears that up.



You can also get covers that have 4 screws in them for a little extra support.

Yes, I can find all kinds of covers with 4 screws but I'll be damned if I can find one box that will accept 4 corner screws. All the boxes I've found have two places for corner screws.

Thanks guys, I have to get off this machine before I go blind.
 
  #13  
Old 11-13-14, 05:15 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
Ok I understand your question now.
Your cover has 4 holes so it can fit on your box properly no matter how the box is rotated.
Look at your cover and envision only two holes on it, now envision the box being rotated so the screws are opposite to where they are sitting. Your cover would no longer fit to keep the device aligned properly.
2 screws is all it takes to mount something on a 4x4 box.
 
  #14  
Old 11-13-14, 05:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Not boxes with four screws plates with four screws.

Name:  028_zpsf4f062e8.jpg
Views: 135
Size:  47.0 KB

.
 
  #15  
Old 11-13-14, 06:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,456
Alrighty then, no wonder I couldn't find one. Two screws it is.

Thanks very much!!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'