Question about electrical inspections

Old 11-13-14, 07:05 PM
Question about electrical inspections

Hey Guys

I live in an 80 year old house that is still using 2-wire electricity (no ground). I've decided that I want to slowly replace the wire. My plan is to start in the bedroom and tear down the walls, rewire the room on its own circuit, and put up drywall.

I'm going to pull a permit for this. When the city inspector comes, will he ding me on other things in the house that might not be up to code? It's an 80 yr old house so I'm sure there's code violations going on in some places. Or is it his job to only pay attention to the work that I pulled a permit for? I just bought the house 2 years ago so any other work that has been performed here, was by the previous home owner.

What is your overall experience with inspectors?

Sponsored Links
Old 11-13-14, 07:20 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
I'm not an electrician. But this may help, as I have had inspections done on my house, only for upgrades.
The new wiring (upgrades) you're making will be inspected as normal. Inspector will look at wiring while walls are still open.
Old wiring should not be an issue. One problem you may run into is if your panel can handle the circuits you are adding. No breaks given on this one. Grounding may be an issue also.
Electricians will add better info.

Old 11-13-14, 07:50 PM
I've decided that I want to slowly replace the wire. My plan is to start in the bedroom and tear down the walls, rewire the room on its own circuit, and put up drywall.
If your intent is to slowly rewire the whole house, room-by-room, will you get one permit for the whole house or a permit for each room. I have seen a few overzealous inspectors in commercial work that would try to look beyond the permitted work and require extra work in other areas, but a call to his boss usually takes care of that.

Old 11-13-14, 08:02 PM