Intersystem Bonding Terminal Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-13-14, 09:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Intersystem Bonding Terminal Question

I am located in MI and on the 2008 NEC.
Is it permissible to connect an intersystem bonding terminal to the neutral bar of the service panel using a separate conductor instead of the GEC?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-14-14, 07:20 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 32 Votes on 27 Posts
The way the requirement is written I don't think so, but would need to read the exact words. Why would you consider this?
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-14, 08:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wall the Meter base and panel are located on has a stepped out foundation. For neatness I ran the GEC in PVC with an offset. There is not enough room to add the IBT into the run before the offset.
I don't have a copy of the 2008 NEC on hand but I believe 250.94 applies. I want to say it allows me to.
 
  #4  
Old 11-14-14, 09:08 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
I'm thinking you probably could as long as you use the same size conductor as the GEC. I don't think I've ever done that though, so YMMV.
 
  #5  
Old 11-14-14, 09:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I will go ahead and do it that way then.
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-14, 07:56 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,056
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
There is not enough room to add the IBT into the run before the offset.
What about after the offset? This one allows 1/2" PVC conduit to be terminated at the bridge.

Arlington | Intersystem Grounding Bridges with PVC Adapter
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-14, 11:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That could work. Is there a minimum height above grade the bridge should be placed?
 
  #8  
Old 11-14-14, 11:51 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
I generally put them around 1 - 2 feet above grade, depending on what seems to make sense with that particular house. I'd say anywhere above grade should be OK, just needs to be accessible.
 
  #9  
Old 11-27-14, 06:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had my inspection Tuesday and passed. The inspector approved the IBT.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: