Intersystem Bonding Terminal Question


  #1  
Old 11-13-14, 08:54 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Intersystem Bonding Terminal Question

I am located in MI and on the 2008 NEC.
Is it permissible to connect an intersystem bonding terminal to the neutral bar of the service panel using a separate conductor instead of the GEC?
 
  #2  
Old 11-14-14, 06:20 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The way the requirement is written I don't think so, but would need to read the exact words. Why would you consider this?
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-14, 07:52 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The wall the Meter base and panel are located on has a stepped out foundation. For neatness I ran the GEC in PVC with an offset. There is not enough room to add the IBT into the run before the offset.
I don't have a copy of the 2008 NEC on hand but I believe 250.94 applies. I want to say it allows me to.
 
  #4  
Old 11-14-14, 08:08 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 9,785
Upvotes: 0
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
I'm thinking you probably could as long as you use the same size conductor as the GEC. I don't think I've ever done that though, so YMMV.
 
  #5  
Old 11-14-14, 08:37 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I will go ahead and do it that way then.
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-14, 06:56 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,872
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
There is not enough room to add the IBT into the run before the offset.
What about after the offset? This one allows 1/2" PVC conduit to be terminated at the bridge.

Arlington | Intersystem Grounding Bridges with PVC Adapter
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-14, 10:02 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That could work. Is there a minimum height above grade the bridge should be placed?
 
  #8  
Old 11-14-14, 10:51 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 9,785
Upvotes: 0
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
I generally put them around 1 - 2 feet above grade, depending on what seems to make sense with that particular house. I'd say anywhere above grade should be OK, just needs to be accessible.
 
  #9  
Old 11-27-14, 05:39 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I had my inspection Tuesday and passed. The inspector approved the IBT.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: