Universal socket question

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-14-14, 07:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Universal socket question

Linked below, is a transformer that I've just purchased.
Will be running a machine off of it. Machine is rather 220v. I am working with 120v power.
Now, my question is, does anyone have some type of list or photo, stating/showing which plugs are compatible with that universal socket?

Would a nema 6-15p fit?
Also, what other plugs that I can get in the US will fit that socket? 220/240v 15 amps.
I'd like to see if I can just find a c13 that will fit my machine with a plug that will fit that socket.that way, I have a power cord that doesn't need to be rewired.

Photo of the transformer, below.

Name:  512rXYr+QSL.jpg
Views: 256
Size:  32.5 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-14-14, 07:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,049
Is this another question about your desoldering machine? As stated in other threads it will not work on 120 volts from a 15 amp 120 volt receptacle because it draws too many amps. A transformer doesn't change that.
Specs show AC220Vą10%/AC110Vą10% 50/60Hz so should work on standard US [email protected] The power draw (2400W) is too high for any standard 120v 20amp circuit even with a transformer so do need to run a 2 wire plus ground circuit from the panel. A 6-15R outlet using 14 gauge on 15amp two pole breaker should suffice.
See: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...ml#post2331861 (#7).

When the Ebay seller wrote the unit could be used in the US with a transformer he was wrong because that implied a standard 15 amp receptacle and you can't. A 15 amp circuit can only provide 1800 watts and you need 2400 watts. A 20 amp would supply 2400 but add in the loss natural to a transformer you're over 2400.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-14-14 at 08:31 AM.
  #3  
Old 11-14-14, 12:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 51
One of the outlets that I have in mind is a 4 outlet set, that is wired to a 20 amp breaker by themselves
 
  #4  
Old 11-14-14, 01:03 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,049
But using the transformer would exceed 20 amps slightly. It might work depending on the duty cycle. That is how long it uses 2400 watts at a time. Any breaker at full capacity will eventually trip. Your transform will probably work assuming it doesn't trip the apartment breaker.

Have you tried the plug on your desoldering machine to see if it will fit. I'm guessing you have. I'm surprised it doesn't because it was probably intended to work with European Union or UK plugs not North American plugs. I doubt you will fimd an American plug to fit it because US isn't 220 volts so it appears to be made for EU plugs.
 
  #5  
Old 11-14-14, 01:47 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Receptacle and cord caps are specifically made so as to not be interchangeable to avoid using the wrong voltage or ampacities for equipment.

One of the outlets that I have in mind is a 4 outlet set, that is wired to a 20 amp breaker by themselves
This really has no bearing as it sounds like both the voltage and frequency are both wrong for your equipment.
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-14, 03:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Well, Its be said that the machine will work on both 220 & 240.
Also, it's quite odd, but my machine has a silver plate on the side with electrical info, and it says 1700W on it.
Name:  image3.jpg
Views: 191
Size:  28.7 KB
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-14, 03:31 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
The US uses a 60 Hz electrical system. Your machine is made to operate on the European 50 Hz.
 
  #8  
Old 11-14-14, 03:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 51
I believe that it doesnt make much of difference in regard to this specific machine. I am by no means an electrician like you all, though. but, there are many individuals who are using this machine in the US without issue. I myself have also been using it with the dryer plug that everyone here helped me rig up
 
  #9  
Old 11-14-14, 08:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,049
If it works with the dryer plug why do you want to use the transformer?

Stood on my head and looked at the data plate you posted. Why didn't you post that much earlier? It says 1700 watts so you you should be okay on the 20 amp circuit but it says 50Hz only (nothing to indicate it will work on 60 Hz) so the question now is will it die a premature death on 60 Hz.

As to the plug if you converted it to a 6-15p then it won't work on the transformer you bought because it is intended for European plugs.
 
  #10  
Old 11-14-14, 11:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Haha. Yea, I have no idea why it's upside down. It's the right way on my computer. Far as the plug, I posted on Amazon in regards to that plug and everyone says that a 6-15p will fit it. It's a universal female plug. Not European. It's also meant to work with us plugs as well. I was just unsure if it would work with the 6-15
 
  #11  
Old 11-14-14, 11:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,049
Well did you try it?

.
 
  #12  
Old 11-15-14, 12:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 51
No. I just purchased it. Won't be here until Tuesday, I believe.
Also, to answer your question from earlier, the reason that I don't want to use the dryer setup anymore, is because I have different places that I go to use the machine. Some have the dryer outlet, others don't. For those who don't, but may have the outlets with high enough amperage, I will have the transformer.
Thinking of maybe just renting a hotel room smh...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes