Low Voltage Code Quesion


  #1  
Old 11-14-14, 07:00 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 303
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Low Voltage Code Quesion

So I am getting ready to install some 12V led lighting for under cabinet lighting in my kitchen. My current plan is to run a new circuit from the breaker box over to the kitchen, run the 120AC to a switch in the kitchen and then run the switched AC up to a direct wire transformer on top of the cabinet. My plan is then to run the DC down through the wall and through the back of the cabinet to some screw terminals on the led strip lights.

What I'm wondering is are there any codes in violating with this plan. My biggest concern is actually the low voltage in the walls and the screw terminals. I'm pretty familiar with AC code but not so much with the low voltage DC stuff.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 11-14-14, 07:35 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,872
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
I like your plan. Just be sure that the low voltage cable is approved to be run inside a closed wall.
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-14, 07:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
All low voltage wire in the walls must be class 2.
 
  #4  
Old 11-15-14, 03:11 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 303
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yep I would be 100% sure that the low voltage was rated for in wall. I'm assuming I should put some sort of strain relief on the cabinet where the low voltage wire comes out correct? Anyone have any ideas?
 
  #5  
Old 11-16-14, 06:55 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,099
Received 422 Upvotes on 375 Posts
I find it's sometimes easier to just run the cable down in the space between the cabinets. That keeps the wiring outside of the wall and easily changeable in the future.
 
  #6  
Old 11-16-14, 07:17 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 303
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Problem with that approach us that I've got to span a gap between cabinets. We have a vent hood that doesn't have cabinets above it, so something has to go in the wall.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: