Can a outdoor panel connect to indoor circuits


  #1  
Old 11-16-14, 03:38 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can a outdoor panel connect to indoor circuits

Electrician replaced my old FPE outdoor shutoff with a new Siemens panel that also provides some breakers (8/16) - this panel provides feeds to my indoor panel - just like the old FPE shutoff did.

Searched for this, but couldn't detect it.

Can this new outdoor panel feed to indoor circuit in order to free up a couple slots on the indoor panel? Running Sched 80 pvc pipe underground to connect point.

Thanks,

Jimmy
 
  #2  
Old 11-16-14, 03:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Done all the time here. The main panels are often outside below the meter. I doubt you need to use schedule 80. Schedule 40 should be okay unless it is in an area likely to to receive more then normal abuse.
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-14, 03:55 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
Most likely the answer is yes, need a few more details to be absolutely certain.
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-14, 06:05 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can a outdoor panel connect to indoor circuits

Thanks. Electrician said it was ok, but we were not going to permit it so wanted to double check if ok. May still go verify with city.

Sched 80 - just makes me feel better about it.

PS, new panel/shutoff is right next to meter.

Jimmy
 
  #5  
Old 11-17-14, 06:52 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 9,785
Upvotes: 0
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
Whenever you run from inside to outside make sure the conduits are well sealed on both sides with duct seal putty to prevent condensation from getting into the boxes.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: