GFCI replaced does not work


  #1  
Old 11-18-14, 09:07 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 34202
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
GFCI replaced does not work

GFI has no power will not reset.
Simple 1 box direct to cir breaker.
Black wire is hot.
I installed a new one.
Black wire to gold, White to silver and
Copper ground to bottom ground.
Does not work will not test.
Any help ?
Dave
 
  #2  
Old 11-18-14, 09:44 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Did you open the breaker box to check the connections on that end? Is there anything else on that circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 11-18-14, 10:10 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Did you connect to line or load.
Black wire is hot
If you used a non contact tester then the result is meaningless.
 
  #4  
Old 11-18-14, 07:16 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Make sure the wires are secure under the clamps, not just touching.
 
  #5  
Old 11-20-14, 09:28 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 985
Received 160 Upvotes on 133 Posts
Don't over look the obvious. Some breakers are not that vivid that they tripped. Since there is only this device on the breaker be sure you turn the breaker completely to one direction hard to be sure it is off and then turn the breaker in the opposite direction to turn it on, this will reset the breaker. Unless there is a bad connection at the breaker panel, the receptacle box or a break in the circuit between the two this would seem the obvious solution.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: