Garage heater install


  #1  
Old 11-19-14, 11:29 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Garage heater install

Installing a 5000w 240v heater. Maybe 6 feet away from the main electrical panel that is drywalled in. Was planning on running conduit so I don't have to try and fish through the wall insulation up into the attic. Pulling a permit

How do I get out from the side/top of the box and get out of the drywall to mount the conduit? Do I have to use EMT or can I flex the whole way? Either way, plastic or metal?

30 amp breaker and 10 gauge wire? Romex or THHN? Does the ground need to be 10 gauge? Romex would be cheaper but is that ok ? How big of conduit?
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-14, 12:05 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,935
Received 1,756 Upvotes on 1,569 Posts
Is your main electrical panel's face flush with the wall and the box finished off behind the sheetrock or is your panel box mounted on the face of the sheetrock so you have access to the sides?
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-14, 01:06 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The face of the electrical panel is mounted flush with the drywall. I can't access the sides without cutting out drywall(which I figured I would have to some of to get the conduit in)

The insulation in the wall is a loose fill
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-14, 04:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
My suggestion would be to put a box below the breaker panel, put on a cover plate with a knock out in it and run FMC from a 90 connector to the heater.
 
  #5  
Old 11-19-14, 06:25 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can't find a short metallic whip though, think that would be the cheapest option if I can find it instead of buying 25' of MC and connectors

Edit: Actually, can I even use MC instead of FMC? I was just thinking MC so I didn't have to buy the FMC and all the individual color wires probably all in 25' minimums
 

Last edited by Edu.wes; 11-19-14 at 07:03 PM.
  #6  
Old 11-20-14, 08:15 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,893
Received 163 Upvotes on 142 Posts
MC cable should be fine. ...........
 
  #7  
Old 11-21-14, 06:25 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can I use the extra 10ga for 15amp 120 outlets as long as I put it on a 15amp breaker?
 
  #8  
Old 11-21-14, 06:47 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,893
Received 163 Upvotes on 142 Posts
If there is more than one place to plug into you can install a 20 amp breaker with 15 amp receptacles. Garage receptacles require gfi protection.
 
  #9  
Old 11-21-14, 07:11 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If I install an 240v outlet as well, does it need GFCI? I was planning a GFCI breaker for the 120's but do they even make a 240v GFCI?
 
  #10  
Old 11-21-14, 08:05 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,786
Received 173 Upvotes on 156 Posts
If I install an 240v outlet as well, does it need GFCI?
No ......................................
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: