[Wiring An Electrige Range] in need of help

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-20-14, 05:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[Wiring An Electrige Range] in need of help

I am in need of some advice with hooking up my wire from my circuit breaker to my electric range power outlet. My range is a 3 prong, the outlet i picked up is also a 3 prong, but the wire they gave me at home depot has 4 different wires in the rubber sheath, its a 6/3. Their is a black, a red, a white, and a bare copper. I know the black and red is HOT, the white is NEUTRAL, and the bare copper is GROUND. Its 50 amp. Im just not sure which wires i need to plug into the breaker box and the outlet for my range. Im not new to wiring, i have hooked up ceiling fans and what not (small things) so i pretty much know the do's and dont's. Any hep would be appreciated.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-20-14 at 07:32 PM. Reason: Give it a meaningfull title.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-20-14, 05:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,423
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
This is considered a new installation. You need to change the outlet and plug to 4 prong.
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-14, 05:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
alright, thanks for the quick reply. and to be clear there is no way to make what i have work?
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-14, 06:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
there is no way to make what i have work?
Not and be code compliant and as safe as possible. The wiring for the stove will have to be changed also. The neutral and ground will need to be separated according the the manufactures instructions.
 
  #5  
Old 11-20-14, 06:32 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,975
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
All of the conductors will get connected in the breaker box.
 
  #6  
Old 11-21-14, 08:17 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,221
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
the outlet i picked up is also a 3 prong, but the wire they gave me at home depot has 4 different wires in the rubber sheath, its a 6/3
They sold you the 6-3 cable and a 3-wire receptacle and didn't tell you it should be a 4-wire receptacle? That wouldn't be a place I'd ever ask for help with an electrical problem.
 
  #7  
Old 11-21-14, 08:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,423
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
Please let us know what type of cable this is. What is stamped/printed on outside?
 
  #8  
Old 11-21-14, 09:05 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,975
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Good point, I certainly hope the sheath is not rubber.
 
  #9  
Old 11-21-14, 09:14 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,221
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Since the cable has a bare ground and comes from Home Depot, I suspect it is NM-B cable.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: