Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

#6 stranded conductor doesn't fit into the hole in the neutral bar?

#6 stranded conductor doesn't fit into the hole in the neutral bar?


  #1  
Old 11-22-14, 07:57 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,676
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
#6 stranded conductor doesn't fit into the hole in the neutral bar?

While trying to add a new circuit I noticed the white neutral conductor which is a #6 stranded was not fully inserted into the hole in the neutral bar. About half was in the hole and the other half "pulled back".

Is this typical? I released the screw and pulled it out, cut it shorter a bit stripped the insulation, and I had a hard time pushing it into the hole as well. Is it supposed to fit? Are standard neutral bar holes big enough for the bigger conductors?
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-14, 08:11 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Best way is to add a neutral bar adapter for your larger wire. GE PowerMark Gold Neutral/Ground Kit-TLK20CP at The Home Depot
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-14, 12:24 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,252
Received 113 Votes on 98 Posts
Some bars have different size holes. The label should tell. Many bars accept a #4 or smaller without an adapter.
 
  #4  
Old 11-22-14, 12:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you have a branch circuit ground wire in one of the large neutral bar holes you might want to move it if it will fit a smaller hole or add a ground bar. However Larry's suggestion may be easiest.
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-14, 07:01 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,815
Received 106 Votes on 94 Posts
There is more than one style depending on the manufacturer. Here is the type adapter I like.

Square D QO 70 Amp Auxiliary Neutral Lug Kit-QO70ANCP at The Home Depot

But......a #6 should fit any neutral bus without using an adapter.
 
  #6  
Old 11-25-14, 07:23 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 123
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you look closely, the neutral bar should have the gauge ranges stamped on side...6-14 is typical for branch neutral bar. A lug kit for neutral bar will work as suggested by others...
 
  #7  
Old 11-25-14, 11:04 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I am not mistaken, the older (early-mid 1990s and before) GE panels had neutral bars that only took up to a #8 or #10 except for a few holes.
 
  #8  
Old 11-26-14, 03:56 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can tell you a Red Neck way to do this , but I would get yelled at . :-(

What does the # 6 neutral go to ?

God bless
Wyr
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: