Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

#6 stranded conductor doesn't fit into the hole in the neutral bar?

#6 stranded conductor doesn't fit into the hole in the neutral bar?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-22-14, 08:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,559
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
#6 stranded conductor doesn't fit into the hole in the neutral bar?

While trying to add a new circuit I noticed the white neutral conductor which is a #6 stranded was not fully inserted into the hole in the neutral bar. About half was in the hole and the other half "pulled back".

Is this typical? I released the screw and pulled it out, cut it shorter a bit stripped the insulation, and I had a hard time pushing it into the hole as well. Is it supposed to fit? Are standard neutral bar holes big enough for the bigger conductors?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-22-14, 09:11 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Best way is to add a neutral bar adapter for your larger wire. GE PowerMark Gold Neutral/Ground Kit-TLK20CP at The Home Depot
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-14, 01:24 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
Some bars have different size holes. The label should tell. Many bars accept a #4 or smaller without an adapter.
 
  #4  
Old 11-22-14, 01:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you have a branch circuit ground wire in one of the large neutral bar holes you might want to move it if it will fit a smaller hole or add a ground bar. However Larry's suggestion may be easiest.
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-14, 08:01 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,271
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
There is more than one style depending on the manufacturer. Here is the type adapter I like.

Square D QO 70 Amp Auxiliary Neutral Lug Kit-QO70ANCP at The Home Depot

But......a #6 should fit any neutral bus without using an adapter.
 
  #6  
Old 11-25-14, 08:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 123
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you look closely, the neutral bar should have the gauge ranges stamped on side...6-14 is typical for branch neutral bar. A lug kit for neutral bar will work as suggested by others...
 
  #7  
Old 11-26-14, 12:04 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I am not mistaken, the older (early-mid 1990s and before) GE panels had neutral bars that only took up to a #8 or #10 except for a few holes.
 
  #8  
Old 11-26-14, 04:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can tell you a Red Neck way to do this , but I would get yelled at . :-(

What does the # 6 neutral go to ?

God bless
Wyr
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: