GFCI Switch and Receptacle Amp Rating


  #1  
Old 11-22-14, 09:19 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 36
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
GFCI Switch and Receptacle Amp Rating

Post separated from: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...es-outlet.html
Members Location: Canada.

Hi all, I am having similar situation. I am wiring a powder room. I am planning to have 2 switches (one for the fan and the other one for the lights) and one gfci. I read I need a 20 amp circuit. Is this a code requirement? Or can I use a 15 amp circuit? I was confused when I saw the pictures above, it seems a 15 amp gfci. What about the switches? should there be 20 amp or can I use 15 amp?
Thanks!
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-22-14 at 10:54 AM. Reason: Add members location and URL of refferenced thread.
  #2  
Old 11-22-14, 10:44 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
CEC differs from NEC in certain rules. The thread was based on NEC rules. IIRC Canada requires 20 amp receptacles on 20 amp circuits. The NEC on the other hand allows 15 amp if there are two or more places to plug in and a duplex receptacle counts as two places. Note: US 15 amp receptacles are 20 amp pass through.
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-14, 01:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,967
Received 192 Upvotes on 168 Posts
The switch needs to be rated for the load it controls, not the circuit ampacity.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: