Creating neutral bar inside main panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-22-14, 12:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Creating neutral bar inside main panel

I currently have a main panel outside my house that feeds 2 sub panels inside my house and nothing else. I want to add a circuit with an outlet to it in order to have a place to plug things in outside. I understand the gfi part but since it is only feeding the sub panels, it appears the ground an neutral bars are bridged across the bottom with a bar. There is only one wire connected to what appears to be the neutral bar which is on the left side. If I moved that wire to the right side and removed the bridge bar across the bottom, will that work to give me my neutral bar?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-22-14, 12:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25
I should have added the two grounds and one neutral are already connected to the bar on the right and it has a strap to the box. The one on the left is insulated from the box.
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-14, 02:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
In a service panel you already have a neutral bar. You should not need to add anything.
 
  #4  
Old 11-22-14, 07:04 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
Will this main panel accept any more breakers or is it full?
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-14, 10:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25
It is a 200 amp panel and only has 2 90 amp breakers in it that feed two separate panels. Most of the panel is empty. When I say create the neutral bar, the panel has two long vertical bars the length of the panel. The one on the right has the ground feed wire on top, and two grounds and one neutral connected to it. Then there is a factory strap from one of the holes to the box. That is why I am saying this is the ground bar. Across the bottom of panel there is a metal bar connecting the right and left bars. This bar can be removed isolating the bars from each other. Right now the second neutral is the only wire connected to the left bar and it is linked back to the other side by the bar at the bottom. It looks like if I move the one neutral from the left side to the right and remove that lower connecting bar, I will have an empty neutral bar to add a 110 circuit to this box. I tried to upload a photo from my phone and couldn't get it to attach. Hope this helps and thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 11-23-14, 05:08 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
The one on the right has the ground feed wire on top, and two grounds and one neutral connected to it. Then there is a factory strap from one of the holes to the box. That is why I am saying this is the ground bar.
That is your neutral bus and it is bonded to the box, as it should be. Any future 120 volt or 120/240 volt branches from this panel should have both neutral and ground conductors terminated on the neutral bus. This can be on either the left or right side, it makes no difference.
 
  #7  
Old 11-23-14, 06:29 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
Your setup is correct for the reasons outlined above.
 
  #8  
Old 11-23-14, 07:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Ok great. Just so I understand, since it is not a sub panel, they are supposed to be bonded together and not separated. My thought by separating them would keep the sub panels bonded on the right side and give me the neutral for my branch line. I now see the need to keep them bonded. Thank you everyone for your help. I do appreciate it... Andrew
 
  #9  
Old 11-23-14, 07:32 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
Just so I understand, since it is not a sub panel, they are supposed to be bonded together and not separated.
That's right, only at the main panel is the grounded neutral bus to be bonded to the panel can/box. The supanels must have the neutral bus isolated from the panel can/box and a separate ground bar installed for branch circuit ground terminations.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'