Passed inspection

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-02-14, 02:01 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Passed inspection

Normally my work is relegated to remodeling, repair and restoration work. I do very little new construction. I got called in to do the framing and electrical on a 48' x 30' garage for a fellow. He was acting as GC, so all the roofing, gutters, garage doors, concrete slab were done by "others". We finished framing and trim last week. Started electrical. Called inspector for rough inspection and asked him if the ground plane the concrete guy installed would suffice for one of my grounding rods. He agreed. I have never had a concrete guy tie all the rebar together and to a #6 bare copper pigtail before. Just curious if anyone else has had that experience. We normally have to sink and tie together two rods 6' apart.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-02-14, 02:21 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
Tieing the rebar in the footer to make a Ufer ground is common. I am surprised he let you use #6 @and not #4.
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-14, 02:42 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I stand corrected, it was #4. Just never ran across it here.

Name:  house.jpg
Views: 262
Size:  40.7 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-02-14 at 04:34 PM. Reason: picture all better now.
  #4  
Old 12-02-14, 02:43 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,859
I'm surprised it passed with the garage being upside down and all?
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-14, 02:45 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
It is balanced remarkably well!
 
  #6  
Old 12-02-14, 05:00 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
The customer was Australian, looker good to them.
 
  #7  
Old 12-02-14, 06:14 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
It looks great, Chandler! Did the garage get a new service or a subpanel from the house?
 
  #8  
Old 12-02-14, 06:21 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
CJ, just a subpanel from the house. He will store his car collection in there, so no big draws on current, although I am running 240 volts out there to future proof it a little. He has lights and a few receptacles, plus GDO's. Oh, almost forgot, those missing pieces of trim on the front corners will be rock columns 3' high and 16" on each wall.

Thanks, Pete, balancing all that concrete was a booger!
 
  #9  
Old 12-02-14, 07:12 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,859
Ah crud PJ...now the balancing comments make no sense.

That is a darn nice storage garage though. I never understood the trim extensions under the windows though? Is that a regional thing?
 
  #10  
Old 12-02-14, 08:33 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
So sad... That garage is bigger them my house.......
 
  #11  
Old 12-02-14, 10:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,483
Sorry Vic.... the house was tired and having a hard time balancing on its roof.
 
  #12  
Old 12-03-14, 03:26 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Actually, Vic, the trim matches the house. He wanted it that way. I guess once Marksr, or whoever paints, gets it painted, it will look better. Yeah, Mike, 1440 square feet of concrete. Massive.
 
  #13  
Old 12-03-14, 03:58 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,226
Larry, if you gave me the contract to paint that garage - I'd probably have to take a nap and rest from the long drive before I could get started

It's amazing how a good paint job always makes a job look better I've seen more than one customer complain about how poorly their house was being built during construction only to be completely satisfied at the finish product. I've even had a few customers say I was a lousy painter halfway thru the priming process but then brag on my painting once the job was complete.
 
  #14  
Old 12-03-14, 05:10 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,859
Larry, I figured that was what it was, just don't understand the reason. Is it a specific style like greek/gothic/roman revival?
 
  #15  
Old 12-03-14, 02:04 PM
czizzi's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 7,081
Alright, I took the bait....... Explain how you plan on adding stone columns to the corners. You have T1-11 already installed, but not cement backer. Are you going to build it out and then add backer board? As you already added trim up to that point, I'm sure there is a game plan. Care to share? or is it someone else's problem and you just follow prints on what was requested.
 
  #16  
Old 12-03-14, 02:21 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Z, yeah build out, felt, lath, etc. Not really "columns", but corner treatments with cap rock. I'll send one of my guys over for a day job on it. The owner has columns on his house, and wants a similar treatment to accent the corners.

Marksr, I agree, paint will make a world of difference, accentuating the trim/rakes and fascias.
 
  #17  
Old 12-10-14, 03:14 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You are so right Mark. Paint makes all,the difference. They have to finish the high work, but client is pleased.

Why me? Can someone upright my building again, before his cars fall out

Name:  Larrys pic.jpg
Views: 164
Size:  35.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-10-14 at 09:37 AM. Reason: wrangled wayward picture
  #18  
Old 12-10-14, 03:20 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,226
Welcome to Larry's world where everything is upside down
 
  #19  
Old 12-10-14, 05:54 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,859
Maybe you have an Australian camera Larry?

Sorry, I don't know how to adjust the pictures.
 
  #20  
Old 12-10-14, 05:51 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,982
Nice building!

However, I am wondering, are you not required to be a licensed electrical contractor to do electrical work on a building that you do not own in GA?
 
  #21  
Old 12-10-14, 05:55 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,859
I think that may be covered under the GC license TI? Larry is prob better qualified than half the practicing electricians out there.
 
  #22  
Old 12-10-14, 06:27 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,982
Not doubting Chandler's work, I was just curious how it works in some other states.

In MN only a homeowner is allowed to do their own electrical work on their own building(s) that is their primary residence. Anybody else doing electrical work must be a licensed electrical contractor registered with the state to pull an electrical permit, which is separate from the building permit. The GC, or homeowner (depending), can pull the building permit.
 
  #23  
Old 12-10-14, 06:59 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
I was just curious how it works in some other states.
This subject could make for an interesting thread.
 
  #24  
Old 12-11-14, 03:25 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Normally, yes, the contractor, or sub contractor must be licensed to pull the permits for electrical work. This owner just happened to pull the permits. On a garage not attached to the main structure, with no water/septic and only electrical to a subpanel, the owner is able to do his own work, or oversee it, which I allowed him to do from Florida
 
  #25  
Old 12-11-14, 04:25 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,226
The fact that small communities have lax enforcement probably plays a part too I used to work with an electrician [and he was a good one] that never got his state license but he got all his permits thru another electrical contractor he was friends with.
 
  #26  
Old 12-11-14, 09:28 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
I used to work with an electrician [and he was a good one] that never got his state license but he got all his permits thru another electrical contractor he was friends with.
No state licensing here in MO, it's all done locally at municipality or county level. Only contractors are licensed, not individual electricians. If a licensed contractor is caught taking out a permit for someone else, he could possibly lose his license and be faced with a large fine. Loss of license means you are out of business.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'